PDA

View Full Version : How do you specify the music folder on a remote NAS device

john.c.cochrane
2007-10-12, 13:31
Sorry, this is probably a dumb question I'm kind of new to Linux

I have Ubuntu running and Slim Server installed. We have an NSLU2 Linksys as a NAS store for our windows network, this also contains all of our music. I have no problems accessing this from the Network Places on Ubuntu. What I can not figure out for the life of me is how to specify a location on the NLSU2 as the music folder.

The file browser on Ubuntu says it's smb://goose-nest/media the SlimServer software wnats nothing to do with the path specified like this

Any Ideas

Thanks

peterw
2007-10-12, 13:56
Take a look at this:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MountWindowsSharesPermanently

-Peter

john.c.cochrane
2007-10-13, 08:16
I think this is the right direction, but my lack of knowledge of Linux is probably letting me down. I get:

mount: wrong fs type, bad option, bad superblock on //goose-nest/media,
missing codepage or other error
In some cases useful info is found in syslog - try
dmesg | tail or so

When I try to mount the disk

and the following in the system log

[ 2274.252000] smbfs: mount_data version 1936029031 is not supported

Is there some piece of software that needs to be installed on Ubuntu to allow this to work?

Thanks
John

Take a look at this:
https://wiki.ubuntu.com/MountWindowsSharesPermanently

-Peter

john.c.cochrane
2007-10-15, 10:25
OK, I have this working. I didn't have the package for Samba installed. So know I have slimserver accessing a folder on the monted Samba disk. The problem I have now is that the Squeeze box is not maintaining a good connection to the disk. It works for about 15 or 20 minutes the the squeeze box starts telling me it can't locate the files. However, from the Linux file system I can still see the device and files.

Any ideas?

Thanks

John