PDA

View Full Version : Help: Controlling my SB3 via my Laptop



jmstipe
2007-10-11, 12:53
Hello
I need some assistance in setting up my laptop to control my SB3. My current setup is as follows:

iMac 2.0 Dual Core
D-Link wireless router
SB3
I have the slimserver software setup on my Mac and my SB works fine. Now I have a windows PC laptop that I want to use to control my SB.

IBM Laptop
Windows XP with Slimserver software installed.

The FAQ states the following:
"In any web browser, type this URL: http://localhost:9000/. Replace "localhost" with the IP address for the computer running the SlimServer software."

I've done this with my laptop and I can not connect. Is there something else that I should try? Or is there a different way to approach this. I want to be able to view Album covers and control my SB much like a giant remote control.

Thanks for the help.
Jmstipe.

ceejay
2007-10-11, 14:13
OK, so your first problem is that you don't need slimserver on the windows laptop. Stop it running, just to be sure that the SB is conencting only to the copy of slimserver running on your Mac.

Then find the IP address of your Mac. Lets say its 192.168.1.2

Then, on a browser on your Windows laptop, navigate to http://192.168.1.2:9000

If this doesn't work you may have some networking problems, possibly a firewall getting in the way somewhere. Report back and you'll get more help!

Ceejay

jmstipe
2007-10-11, 18:15
Thanks ceejay,
I've uninstalled Slimserver software from the PC laptop. I opened a browser and entered the IP address for the Mac (followed by the :9000).

I received the following error:
Internet Explorer cannot display the webpage

Should i make some type of adjustment to the firewall settings on my Mac?

Thank you.

peejay
2007-10-11, 18:18
You could try checking to see if your Windows firewall (Start->Control Panel->Windows Firewall) is on. If so , turn it off (for now) and try again.

jmstipe
2007-10-11, 18:23
hello
i turned my windows firewall off and tried it again. no change.

peejay
2007-10-11, 18:31
hello
i turned my windows firewall off and tried it again. no change.

OK, well I'm a Mac newbie (had my macbook only a couple of months), but I have a link which may help.
http://www.macdevcenter.com/pub/a/mac/2005/03/15/firewall.html

If all else fails check back here soon and I'm sure there will be a mac expert on line to help you out.

Empgamer
2007-10-11, 21:36
Mine controls it fine. What are you typing in as your url for slimserver? Have you any other firewalls installed that may be blocking access? Anything that might be turning on via anti-virus?

radish
2007-10-13, 21:01
Did you try pinging the mac? From the windows machine, open a command prompt (start > run > cmd) and type "ping x.x.x.x" where x.x.x.x is the mac's IP. It should say something like this:



Pinging squidward [192.168.2.109] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 192.168.2.109: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.2.109: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.2.109: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128
Reply from 192.168.2.109: bytes=32 time<1ms TTL=128

Ping statistics for 192.168.2.109:
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 0ms, Average = 0ms


If not you probably have a basic network problem.

jmstipe
2007-10-19, 20:17
ok - i pinged my Mac
Ping statistics for "10.xxx.xxx.xxx"
Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 0ms, Maximum = 5ms, Average = 1ms

Just to confirm... when I open the web browser and enter the IP address followed by ":9000" - what should appear in the browser?

Perhaps I need to adjust a firewall setting on my Mac?

Appreciate the help.

jmstipe
2007-10-19, 21:19
Update...
I went into my Mac settings and adjusted the firewall settings to allow my laptop to access the Mac. It now works. Problem solved.

thanks to everyone for their help.