PDA

View Full Version : Anyone know how to reinstall NX server?

Ashy72
2007-10-10, 11:47
Hi i am a xubuntu newbie so bear with me.

I tried running FreeNx Client Node and Server however i couldn't get it to work. I looked around on the net and found an install nx guide for linux.
Someone else also had problems with FreeNx. On this guide it tells you to remove all freenx packages installed.

To do this i used terminal and did:- sudo dpkg -r nxserver
sudo dpkg -r nxclient
sudo dpkg -r nxnode

It also says that all files or libraries should be removed, which i am a bit puzzled about.

Anyway i downloaded the NX Desktop Server, NX Client, NX Node deb files. And tried re-installing. Client then Node installed ok.
When it came to installing the NX server again by double clicking the file the manager starts then stops and shows terminal, the following is shown:-

Setting up nxserver (3.0.0-69)...
NX>704 ERROR: Cannot add user: nx User: nx already exists
NX>704 ERROR: Please try to fix the problem be reinstalling the server.
dpkg:error processing nxserver (--install): sub process post-installation script returned error exit status 1

ive tried reinstalling but the same shows everytime.
The problem is with this User: nx how to remove it?

I would appreciate ant advice im really stuck, this is driving me bonkers. I tried the NX website for answers theres nothing on there.

Thanks, Mark.

Robin Bowes
2007-10-10, 11:58
Ashy72 wrote:

> The problem is with this User: nx how to remove it?

man userdel

R.

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-10, 12:01
Have you tried the Ubuntu forums?

http://ubuntuforums.org/

You should also try removing via Synaptic. Unfortunately I've never seen the dpkg command you've used, it may have screwed things up for removal via Synaptic.

Ashy72
2007-10-10, 13:36
Ashy72 wrote:

> The problem is with this User: nx how to remove it?

man userdel

R.

Many thanks indeed, Used sudo userdel -f nx
This did the trick and now i have nxserver installed. Now to test it....