PDA

View Full Version : ClarkConnect install stalls.

Fifer
2007-10-09, 10:58
I'm a complete linux beginner, but inspired by mick_w's excellent mini-ITX server project, I'm trying to build something similar. I have a VIA Epia M10000 motherboard which I bought from eBay with 256M memory installed (a little light I suspect, but I thought it would do to get me started). I've burned an ISO image of the ClarkConnect Community Edition 4.1 which boots, but after choosing the install option and watching a whole load of text scrolling up the screen, it blanks or hangs after "running /sbin/loader" and I cannot get any further.

It seems similar to this (http://www.clarkconnect.com/forums/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=98769&an=0&page=0#Post98769) problem, but the suggestion seems to be that it's related to using (or not using) ACPI. The BIOS options for ACPI don't include an option to switch it on or off and I've tried playing with the other options to no avail.

Any ideas? Would I be better trying SlimNAS?

Fifer
2007-10-10, 15:25
Bump. No ideas?

mherger
2007-10-10, 23:16
> It seems similar to 'this'
> (http://www.clarkconnect.com/forums/showflat.php?Cat=0&Number=98769&an=0&page=0#Post98769)

Have you asked in that forum, too? This seems to be a rather CC only issue, not related to Slimserver.

> Any ideas? Would I be better trying SlimNAS?

It's not the same kind of system: FreeNAS is a NAS only system, serving files. CC is a multi-purpose server, including web, mail, file and print services. I'd expect FreeNAS to run better on low-spec machines, as it's very focused. But the SlimNAS setup is a little more exotic than CC, as the latter is a fully fledged Linux system, while FreeNAS is a very stripped down FreeBSD system. That said I think setting up a SlimNAS is pretty straight forward. But if you're stuck there's probably only me able to help you :-)

Michael

Fifer
2007-10-11, 00:34