PDA

View Full Version : JHB can't find slimserver



pfarrell
2007-10-05, 12:21
I had it working, and then changed too much. I know better, but I had to.

I changed operating systems on my slimserver, and changed wifi routers. I've got SC7 working, playing music to my transporter, and the web front end is fine.

But neither my JHR/JHB nor my old SqueezeBox 1 can see the SC7.
Wireless works fine from assorted laptops, I'm typing this in over wireless now.

SqueezeCenter Version: 7.0 - 13563 - Debian - EN - iso-8859-1
Server IP address: 172.16.4.10
Perl Version: 5.8.8 i486-linux-gnu-thread-multi
MySQL Version: 5.0.32-Debian_7etch1

The JHB finds the SSID of the WAP fine, there is no encryption.

The JHB firmware is kinda old, from when I was running SS7 on the server. Its 1r484

I've done a "factory reset" and done the remove battery restart trick, with no joy

It finds the SSID and wifi net, but never sees a player
the "choose player" page is empty.

Ideas?

pfarrell
2007-10-05, 12:34
Mark Lanctot wrote:
> Do you have a player connected to SC7? Otherwise there's nothing to
> choose.

Yes, I'm listening to my Transporter.
I'll worry about the SB1 later.


> You can tell JHB is connected to SC by the clock display and Settings -
> Contoller Settings - Advanced - Music Source, although previous firmware
> used a different sequence and wording, mentioning SlimServer IIRC.

Doesn't get that far.
The startup/setup says setup, then finds SSID, connects and goes to the
"choose player" screen.

There are no options, pages, etc. on the Choose Player screen.
All that shows is the background image, the "Choose Player" at the top
of the screen, the center "radio" icon and the "full battery" display

None of < or > or + or home do anything
Pressing the center button makes the speaker go "clonk"
while spins and clicks with no visible action


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

nicketynick
2007-10-05, 12:36
Hi Pat,

I'm assuming if you changed your OS, that means you've also moved to a more recent SC nightly? If so, a while back there was a nightly (like 9/26?) where you had to make sure your JHB firmware was post-r600 before proceeding (look for a thread by Andy Grundman for info). So you may need to update the JHB software via the SD-card method (or apparently there is a way to scp it - that's over my head)
No ideas why the SB1 is having trouble - maybe it doesn't get along well with the new WAP?

snarlydwarf
2007-10-05, 12:37
The JHB firmware is kinda old, from when I was running SS7 on the server. Its 1r484

Update the firmware by copying jive.bin to a 1G or less SD card (there is an SD slot hiding in the battery compartment) and then telling the remote to update from the SD card.

Around the end of September there was a change that broke update compatability, so that is the easiest way.

andyg
2007-10-05, 12:38
On Oct 5, 2007, at 3:34 PM, Pat Farrell wrote:

> Mark Lanctot wrote:
>> Do you have a player connected to SC7? Otherwise there's nothing to
>> choose.
>
> Yes, I'm listening to my Transporter.
> I'll worry about the SB1 later.
>
>
>> You can tell JHB is connected to SC by the clock display and
>> Settings -
>> Contoller Settings - Advanced - Music Source, although previous
>> firmware
>> used a different sequence and wording, mentioning SlimServer IIRC.
>
> Doesn't get that far.
> The startup/setup says setup, then finds SSID, connects and goes to
> the
> "choose player" screen.
>
> There are no options, pages, etc. on the Choose Player screen.
> All that shows is the background image, the "Choose Player" at the top
> of the screen, the center "radio" icon and the "full battery" display
>
> None of < or > or + or home do anything
> Pressing the center button makes the speaker go "clonk"
> while spins and clicks with no visible action

You have a very old firmware. You need to upgrade but you need an
older SlimServer to do it. See this post:
http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=38747

pfarrell
2007-10-05, 12:44
> Update the firmware by copying jive.bin to a 1G or less SD card (there
> is an SD slot hiding in the battery compartment) and then telling the
> remote to update from the SD card.
>
> Around the end of September there was a change that broke update
> compatability, so that is the easiest way.

I saw those threads, but my system was DOA at the time, so I missed
several cycles of updates.

I don't have a SD card, but I assume the local staples has them



--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

pfarrell
2007-10-05, 12:49
nicketynick wrote:
> Hi Pat,
>
> I'm assuming if you changed your OS, that means you've also moved to a
> more recent SC nightly?

Yes, its the latest and greatest Debian unstable.
I've also tried direct from SVN

> apparently there is a way to scp it - that's over my head)
> No ideas why the SB1 is having trouble - maybe it doesn't get along
> well with the new WAP?

I can SCP, but that means I have to get to the advanced memu, which I
can't get to. Almost a catch 22


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

pfarrell
2007-10-05, 15:09
You have a very old firmware. You need to upgrade but you need an
older SlimServer to do it.


So I tried several times to get old versions to work from SVN, gave up, and bought a SD card (1GB PNY).

Copied the jive_r653.bin to /jive.bin on the SD,
put it in, followed the wiki instructions


# Scroll down and select Software Update from Advanced Settings.
# Select Update from SD card from Software Update. If you do not see this option, then Jive can not see the SD card. This could possibly be due to an incompatible brand or size of SD card or the SD card does not contain a firmware image.


The option doesn't show. I have vague memories that it needs to be /usr/bin/jive, but don't remember, and kind of expect the Wiki to be semi current.

Do I need to move the file? what's the real filepath?

rtitmuss
2007-10-05, 15:44
Pat, it may be that your SD card is not supported. The Jive hardware is a little fussy right now, this should be fixed with a kernel upgrade soon.

I'd suggest you try Dan's unofficial approach in this thread http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=39027. You can use the home key to break out of the setup menus after the wireless network is configured, and get to advanced options to enable the ssh that way.

Sorry for the trouble, hopefully this will get you working again.

Richard

pfarrell
2007-10-05, 15:53
rtitmuss wrote:
> Pat, it may be that your SD card is not supported. The Jive hardware is
> a little fussy right now, this should be fixed with a kernel upgrade
> soon.

That's why I bought the PNY 1GB card from the official support or
perhaps (it works!) list.


> Sorry for the trouble, hopefully this will get you working again.

For some reason, my slimserver/SC is not happy, so its hard to tell
exactly what is happening. So I'll let it run overnight, boot the box
and reset the world.

Its beta, I expected some problems, and some, like changing OS and WAP
at the same time as changing SC version and Jive firmware was not very
smart. Sigh.


--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

MickeyG
2007-10-05, 16:36
So I tried several times to get old versions to work from SVN, gave up, and bought a SD card (1GB PNY).

Copied the jive_r653.bin to /jive.bin on the SD,
put it in, followed the wiki instructions


# Scroll down and select Software Update from Advanced Settings.
# Select Update from SD card from Software Update. If you do not see this option, then Jive can not see the SD card. This could possibly be due to an incompatible brand or size of SD card or the SD card does not contain a firmware image.


The option doesn't show. I have vague memories that it needs to be /usr/bin/jive, but don't remember, and kind of expect the Wiki to be semi current.

Do I need to move the file? what's the real filepath?

I don't know exactly what the problem is, but here are some possible ways to correct the situation and display the SD card option on the screen:

Did you copy jive.bin onto the SD card with Linux? If Linux, make sure the SD card has a single partition table and single FAT partition. You can format it (I don't know how to do this on Linux) to get it that way.

If you're a Windows person, make sure the file name is jive.bin and at the root of the SD card. Windows has a funny habit of changing the file name to jive(2).bin or jive(3).bin.

If these don't work, then I'm not sure what the problem is. The PNY 1GB is on the list of known compatible SD cards. It might be that the Jive Hardware Platform somehow has a defective SD card reader. I have a few with those symptoms on my desk right now.

Of course, there always the one using ssh and scp suggested here: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=39027. I've not tried it myself, but if Richard says it works it must be OK!

Let me know whether these suggestions are helpful. If you're still having problems, then let me know if you'd like to swap your hardware.

Mickey

pfarrell
2007-10-06, 17:25
I'm using Linux, but the card was formatted for FAT by PNY.
I got the firmware to load, don't know what was wrong the first time.

Currently running 1r653
No joy.

I think I'll just wait for a new build or two and try it again.

Something is clearly flakey between my SC7 version and the Jive load

snarlydwarf
2007-10-06, 18:26
Did you use the Debian/Ubuntu packages for JSON, or grab them from CPAN? The Debian and Ubuntu packages are ancient and don't work with SC7.

pfarrell
2007-10-06, 20:02
snarlydwarf wrote:
> Did you use the Debian/Ubuntu packages for JSON, or grab them from
> CPAN? The Debian and Ubuntu packages are ancient and don't work with
> SC7.

I just don't know. The Debian install is only a week and a half old, I
punted on Mandriva. But I have tried so many ss7/sc7 installs, from SVN
and via APT-GET that I can't remember. I have run the Bin/build... so
many times I can't count.

I've run CPAN manually, and via build-perl-modules.pl, so many times
that I have no clue what is, and is not, installed.

snarlydwarf
2007-10-06, 20:19
ah, then you can cheat:

The build-perl script will download stuff from CPAN for you, but doesnt really install it outside the tree.

I always tell it to download to /tmp, but cd to wherever you told it to download, and you will see the two needed modules: JSON-1.14 and JSON-XS-1,5.

cd to each one, and do: "perl ./Makefile.PL; make; make install" in each, and you should be fine. (It will install the modules in /usr/local for you.)

After that point, you should be fine with the .deb nightly.