PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu newbie-how do i enter the path to music folder

zano65
2007-10-04, 11:47
Hello,
i'm new to Ubuntu (3 days) and after many tribulations everything is working except for Slimserver. It's ironic because i'm switching to Linux only to use Slimserver to make a music server. I have put a few albums in a SCSI drive and i have not yet found the way to type something accepted by Slimserver as the music folder.
Thanks in advance
Jean

snarlydwarf
2007-10-04, 11:53
Well it depends on where you put it, of course...

It may be something like "/home/username/music" or something.... without knowing more, it is hard to say.

Most important gotcha: on Linux, case matters. "music" and "Music" are different things, and getting the case wrong will not work.

Mark Miksis
2007-10-04, 16:25
Most important gotcha: on Linux, case matters.

Other important gotcha on linux: make sure the slimserver user has read access to the music folder.

zano65
2007-10-05, 09:59
Other important gotcha on linux: make sure the slimserver user has read access to the music folder.

How do i do it?

pfarrell
2007-10-05, 11:20
zano65 wrote:
> Fletch;232742 Wrote:
>> Other important gotcha on linux: make sure the slimserver user has read
>> access to the music folder.
>
> How do i do it?

Pick the "Places" option at the top of your toolbar, use the browser to
navigate to your songs directory. Right click "Properties"
click on "permissions" tab.
set world read

Make sure it works all the way down your structure.

Most folks would use the shell.
chmod 755 /songs
and perhaps
chown -R slimserver:slimserver /songs

--
Pat Farrell
http://www.pfarrell.com/

zano65
2007-10-06, 04:38
In the permissions tab there are 2 lines: the first one is "acces to folder", it shows "create and supress" (maybe not the exact words since i translate from french)