PDA

View Full Version : Can't reach SlimServer from LAN



endrebj
2007-10-01, 08:00
I have installed SlimServer 6.3 on Debian 4.0 r1 Etch. I can reach the web-GUI locally on http://localhost:9000 and http://127.0.0.1:9000, but not locally on http://10.0.0.14:9000 nor via LAN on http://10.0.0.14:9000. So it does not make any difference wether I use the machine with SlimServer installed or any other machine in the LAN, I can't reach it on it's IP-adress.

Under Server Settings -> Security I have set 'Do not block', and added 10.0.0.* to be sure that I can reach it from the IP. But I can't reach it.

I have attached the /var/lib/slimserver/slimserver.pref (had to rename it to .txt).

What is wrong?

tingtong5
2007-10-01, 12:28
What does your /etc/hosts look like?

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-01, 12:35
I'm not sure if anyone has gotten the 6.3 from the Debian repos successfully working in all respects.

You may want to uninstall and reinstall the latest version using http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DebianPackage

endrebj
2007-10-01, 13:47
Here is my /etc/hosts (had to rename that as well). Nothing special in it.

I can try the 6.5. Should I remove the old version first (aptitude remove slimserver), or could I just update the sources.list and run aptitude install slimserver?

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-01, 14:03
Remove the old one first using apt, but you should also remove the /usr/sbin/slimserver /etc/slimserver and /usr/share/slimserver directories manually.

Note this is on Ubuntu 7.04, Debian may put these directories elsewhere.

endrebj
2007-10-01, 14:21
Yes! Now it works!
I did not remove the old slimserver since aptitude handles old packages without problems. I got a message about 'Could not remove /usr/sbin/slimserver' and etc., but it did not make any trouble.
But it installed MySQL by default. Is it not possible to use SQLite in 6.5? My server has little memory (128 MB), so I have tried to be as economique as I can. But 512 MB is soon in my hands so it does not really matter.

Thank you guys!

Mark Lanctot
2007-10-01, 14:27
Yes! Now it works!
I did not remove the old slimserver since aptitude handles old packages without problems. I got a message about 'Could not remove /usr/sbin/slimserver' and etc., but it did not make any trouble.
But it installed MySQL by default. Is it not possible to use SQLite in 6.5? My server has little memory (128 MB), so I have tried to be as economique as I can. But 512 MB is soon in my hands so it does not really matter.

Thank you guys!

No, 6.5+ is structured to use MySQL for various reasons. And yes, 128 MB is insufficient for SlimServer + OS, even if the OS is as efficient as Debian Linux. 256 would be more comfortable, 512 is plenty in your situation.

Good to see you got it sorted.

tingtong5
2007-10-02, 01:30
Here is my /etc/hosts (had to rename that as well). Nothing special in it.

Indeed! :P

It should contain the ip adress of your network interface!

endrebj
2007-10-02, 02:18
Indeed! :P

It should contain the ip adress of your network interface! I think it recieves IP-adress through DHCP from the router.

tingtong5
2007-10-02, 06:08
I think it recieves IP-adress through DHCP from the router.
A ok, an old-fashioned guy like me always uses static adressing :P

SumnerH
2007-10-02, 09:46
No, 6.5+ is structured to use MySQL for various reasons. And yes, 128 MB is insufficient for SlimServer + OS, even if the OS is as efficient as Debian Linux. 256 would be more comfortable, 512 is plenty in your situation.

If you're in a memory crunch and just want to play some tunes, you can try my minimal slimserver. Releases are announced over on this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=38173&page=3

Don't expect much yet (e.g. playlist management is scheduled for the next release, until then you have to generate playlists before starting the server...).

But it does run in < 4MB of RAM. :-)