PDA

View Full Version : How to reset Slimp3 to original configuration



Mark
2004-01-17, 14:54
Hi all,



I'm in the process of selling my Slimp so that I can purchase the Sqeezebox.



I would like to reset the Slimp so that it is 'as new' and prompts the new
owner to set-up the IP Address configuration etc.



How do I do this ??



Thanks,

Mark

kdf
2004-01-17, 15:29
Quoting Mark <markdm2004 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:

> Hi all,
>
> I'm in the process of selling my Slimp so that I can purchase the Sqeezebox.
>
> I would like to reset the Slimp so that it is 'as new' and prompts the new
> owner to set-up the IP Address configuration etc.
>
> How do I do this ??

it does this every time you power up, unless you have put it in kiosk mode. To
reverse that, you have to redo the firmware, and choose not to use kiosk mode.

-kdf

Bruce Hartley
2004-01-18, 06:26
Kiosk mode?

How do you enable that?
What are the benefits?


"kdf" <slim-mail (AT) deane-freeman (DOT) com> wrote in
message news:1074378544.4009b730ddbe5 (AT) callisto (DOT) deane-freeman.com...
> Quoting Mark <markdm2004 (AT) hotmail (DOT) com>:
>
> > Hi all,
> >
> > I'm in the process of selling my Slimp so that I can purchase the
Sqeezebox.
> >
> > I would like to reset the Slimp so that it is 'as new' and prompts the
new
> > owner to set-up the IP Address configuration etc.
> >
> > How do I do this ??
>
> it does this every time you power up, unless you have put it in kiosk
mode. To
> reverse that, you have to redo the firmware, and choose not to use kiosk
mode.
>
> -kdf

andreas
2004-01-18, 08:11
Hey Bruce,

Bruce Hartley wrote:
> Kiosk mode?
>
> How do you enable that?
> What are the benefits?

Like kdf said, to change mode you need to re-flash the firmware.
when you do that, the application will ask you wether you want
kiosk mode or not. In kiosk mode, the ip settings are saved with the
firmware, ie. own ip, server ip, gateway.
In non-kiosk mode, all settings are asked for att power-up, or found
out automagically via dhcp/slimdp.

rgds
/andreas

dean
2004-01-18, 12:14
Kiosk mode is a SLIMP3-only firmware feature, which can be enabled with
the command-line firmware installer and is intended to disable the
player setup. Probably only useful in public access kiosks.


On Jan 18, 2004, at 7:11 AM, andreas wrote:

> Hey Bruce,
>
> Bruce Hartley wrote:
>> Kiosk mode?
>> How do you enable that?
>> What are the benefits?
>
> Like kdf said, to change mode you need to re-flash the firmware.
> when you do that, the application will ask you wether you want kiosk
> mode or not. In kiosk mode, the ip settings are saved with the
> firmware, ie. own ip, server ip, gateway.
> In non-kiosk mode, all settings are asked for att power-up, or found
> out automagically via dhcp/slimdp.
>
> rgds
> /andreas
>