PDA

View Full Version : SS ignoring iTunes library

BillEccles
2007-09-15, 13:51
Gentleones,

I am by no means a SlimDevices novice... no, I've got many happy years of using my SliMP3 under my belt, but today... today I am stumped. 100%, totally stumped.

I cannot get SlimServer to recognize my iTunes library. Here's the poop:

I ran into a problem earlier today when I noticed that I had no music through the house, so I looked into things and discovered that the SlimServer had declared the MySQL problem that some other folks are having with version 6.5.3. (I had not upgraded to 6.5.4.)

So I thought, it must need to be restarted, right? Cold system (MacOS X Server 10.4.10) reboot. Same MySQL error.

OK, then, you must need to be reinstalled, and I'll just use v 6.5.4 while I'm at it. All went well, except that the MySQL error occurred again. Hmmm. Well, how about a reinstall from scratch, deleting everything that I can find to delete, namely {~/Library/Caches/SlimDevices, /Library/StartupItems/Slim, /Library/PreferencePanes/SlimServer, and even the log file in ~/Library/Logs/slimserver.log}. (Some paths and names may not be quite right; I'm doing the list from memory.)

It starts up just fine, except that it looks at /Users/admin/Music for its music source and I'm going to tell it to look elsewhere, which I do by going to Home>Server Settings>iTunes and tell it that the path to the .xml file is /Volumes/Sound Master/Music/iTunes and the path to the files is /Volumes/Sound Master/Music/iTunes Music.

I then use Home>Server Settings>Basic Behavior and turn on "Use iTunes". Funny thing: neither "Use iTunes" nor "Do not use iTunes" is selected, but I know that the preference changes because I turned on d_prefs and also can see it in the slimserver.pref file.

Now if I clear the library and rescan, it finds absolutely nothing. And it gripes about nothing, too. And if I shut down and restart the server, it only tells me that my data source needs to be configured.