PDA

View Full Version : Any reason an SB2 wont connect via network but sb3 will?



ajmitchell
2007-09-14, 15:49
This is a FAQ but it is also a recurring problem. I had been running 6.2 fine and upgraded to 6.5.5 (hoping for crossfade whilst synched) but now my Sb2's wont connect but the sb3s will. SB2 will still connect wired but not wirelessly. Any suggestions? The router is Belkin Wireless G Plus MIMO which seems to work fine.

SlimServer Version: 6.5.5 - 12905 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252
Server IP address: 84.64.26.89
Perl Version: 5.8.8 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt

Ross L
2007-09-14, 16:32
Are you certain it's a Squeezebox 2 and not an original Squeezebox? What wireless encryption are you using?

What happens when you try to connect your older player via wireless, does it give an error message?

ntom
2007-09-14, 17:51
I had a similar problem a few weeks ago. SB3 was fine -SB2 would not connect by wireless...

In my case somhow the MAC address had got screwed...

see this thread:

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=37538

ajmitchell
2007-09-14, 23:46
thanks for that, if it is a MAC address problem, how do I change to physical MAC address for my two SB2s?

SteveEast
2007-09-15, 07:39
Hold down the LEFT button on the remote for 5 seconds and you'll enter the SB setup. Scroll down and select "Current Settings". Scroll down and select MAC Address. You can then enter the new value.

Steve.