PDA

View Full Version : major scanning problem...

elliot
2007-09-10, 19:22
hi,
I am new at slim devices and when i first scanned my library in all was good. but when i added links to other drives that also contained media and wiped library and attempted to rescan, nothing will come up. It just says scanning, please be patient- yet nothing comes up. i have uninstalled and re-installed slimserver and this does not help. i also left it overnight as i thought it might be taking a long time as its around 300g but still nothing turned up. I then turned off all my anti-virus and firewall software thinking this might be the prob and yet still no files turn up in slimserver. A way to fix this prob would be great...

elliot
2007-09-11, 03:47
a lot of my music is the music folders link, but will not go across to anyother links- i.e albums, artists, songs etc. any ideas anyone?

davep
2007-09-11, 04:50
You don't by any chance have any "circular" links? i.e. links to folders that then either directly or indirectly link back to the original folder.

Also, if you have playlists and these contain illogical or dead links you can get scanner problems.

As for doing the links themselves there is some info in the wiki here which might help. http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?BeginnersGuideToOrganising

davep

elliot
2007-09-11, 18:01
no, i dont have any circular links or any playlists in that directory. it is a drive with only media (album) folders. I have tried taking out shortcuts to other media folders and rescanning and nothing. the strange this is, it scanned that original folder fine the first time but i tried a clear and rescan and nothing...

elliot
2007-09-12, 02:37
if i am unable to get slimserver to work is it possible to use orangeCD (for those that have used it) as a standalone media server instead of slimserver until i manage to get slimserver to work, as i am getting my squeezebox delivered tomorrow and would be very dissapointed if i am unable to use it...

Siduhe