PDA

View Full Version : Palm TX + SlimServer Handheld skin + NoviiRemote Universal Remote software



USAudio
2007-09-10, 16:59
After doing some searching here, I see a few folks have had some limited success using the Palm TX to control SlimServer:
http://www.palm.com/us/products/handhelds/tx/index.html

It seems that Palm has updated their browser to cache pages to offer better performance, has anyone used it recently? How was the performance controlling SlimServer using the SlimServer handheld skin?
e.g. http://192.168.1.2:9000/Handheld/

Also, the Palm TX has a decent infrared port, has anyone used the Palm TX with the NoviiRemote universal remote control software to control the rest of your system???
http://www.novii.tv/palm/deluxe/

Seems like the combination of the Palm TX with the SlimServer Handheld skin AND the Novii software would be a great combination and all that for less than the price of the Sonos remote everyone raves about.
(The Palm TX has a bigger screen and is overall a much smaller unit as well: http://www.sonos.com/products/controller/specs.htm )

JeffW
2007-09-10, 18:58
I have TX and have used it as a remote for SS (but not as an IR remote). It works fairly well, although it locks up occasionally -- I don't know if it's a problem in the TX browser or in SS. Performance is pretty fast, much faster than the Nokia 770, but the screen is not as nice as the Nokia. I'll check out the IR remote.

USAudio
2007-09-11, 10:25
...I'll check out the IR remote.
According to Novii's website, the Palm TX IR should have a distance of approx. 15+ feet (5+ meters).

I wonder if there are any SlimServer handheld skins out there better than the default one?

tyler_durden
2007-09-11, 14:05
I have used my TX to control slimserver a few times and found it wasn't very good. Page switches in the browser take too long because the browser doesn't cache the pages. The screen is a little too small, and you need to use the stylus to select things because the hot areas on the screen are too small to use your fingers.

It would be better if a new interface were designed specifically for a non-caching browser and with large hot areas to allow finger/thumb to make selections.

TD

USAudio
2007-09-11, 15:38
... Page switches in the browser take too long because the browser doesn't cache the pages....
Hi Tyler,
Do you have the latest version of the Blazer browser? If I do a google search on Blazer page caching, it seems that it was a feature added in 2006 or so and that there are settings to adjust cache size, etc. You might check your settings to see if you get any improvement.
e.g. Here's where the settings are to clear the cache:http://kb.palm.com/SRVS/CGI-BIN/WEBCGI.EXE/,/?St=11,E=0000000000721166202,K=4653,Sxi=0,Case=Obj (9830)#tx
Maybe there's a setting in there to turn caching on for you.

tyler_durden
2007-09-11, 23:08
I'll have to check it! Maybe it is better than I thought.

Thanks,

TD

peterw
2007-09-12, 10:23
Hi Tyler,
Do you have the latest version of the Blazer browser? If I do a google search on Blazer page caching, it seems that it was a feature added in 2006 or so and that there are settings to adjust cache size, etc. You might check your settings to see if you get any improvement.
e.g. Here's where the settings are to clear the cache:http://kb.palm.com/SRVS/CGI-BIN/WEBCGI.EXE/,/?St=11,E=0000000000721166202,K=4653,Sxi=0,Case=Obj (9830)#tx
Maybe there's a setting in there to turn caching on for you.

I think I have the latest version of Blazer for the TX (Palm has diff versions for diff devices; largely I think that's because they provide few software updates for older devices). There's a Clear Cache button, but nothing I see to adjust the size of the cache. My device has 70% *unused* space on the internal memory, yet I've never seen anything to make me believe that it caches any content. Maybe a 3rd party browser like Minuet would, but I don't think Blazer does.

The lack of caching doesn't seem to be a problem with the Slimserver Handheld web UI, though it makes some other web browsing painful. And there are other ugly bugs, like crashing the whole PDA if you try to enter too many characters in a text input box.

I only occasionally use the TX to control Slimserver, and only via the web UI. It's fine despite the flaws, and the fact that it only does 802.11b. I set up a second WiFi router exclusively for the PDA so that I don't have to degrade the main "g" network.

plympton
2007-09-13, 13:55
It would be better if a new interface were designed specifically for a non-caching browser and with large hot areas to allow finger/thumb to make selections.

TD

Hear Hear! That's an awesome idea... I was starting to look into that myself, but got a bit bogged down. The Nokia 770 interface is good, but something between it and full-on-text mode would be really great.

-Dan

USAudio
2007-09-16, 19:51
I'll have to check it! Maybe it is better than I thought
Hey Tyler, any success here?

tyler_durden
2007-09-16, 20:48
I have found the "clear cache" option, but it doesn't seem to be the same sort of page cache like the type found in firefox. Maybe it's just the relatively low speed of the PDA that makes it seem like it isn't cached.

When I am on any particular page of the slimserver web interface and hit the browser's cache button, it displays a message "sending" and appears to be downloading the page again even though I was just there.