PDA

View Full Version : Switching remote control codes



Darren White
2004-01-14, 14:51
> I have the "old" JVC remote and I have conflicts with my JVC DVD system. I
> now have a Harmony universal remote so I think I have a chance to switch
> IR code to the new Slim specific set. So, can someone advise how I do this
> and how I might setup the Harmony to use the new set without access to the

Has anyone setup an alternate IR set? I have a JVC DVD player
also, and would love it if my SLiMP3 could use a sony DVD, or
something else.. I don't have a learning universal remote to emulate
the new slim remote codes.

Darren White
InterStar Inc.
530-224-6866 x 103

Darren White
2004-01-14, 15:04
> --- Darren White <tech (AT) shasta (DOT) com> wrote:
> >
> > > I have the "old" JVC remote and I have conflicts with my JVC DVD system. I
> > > now have a Harmony universal remote so I think I have a chance to switch
> > > IR code to the new Slim specific set. So, can someone advise how I do this
> > > and how I might setup the Harmony to use the new set without access to the
> >
> > Has anyone setup an alternate IR set? I have a JVC DVD player
> > also, and would love it if my SLiMP3 could use a sony DVD, or
> > something else.. I don't have a learning universal remote to emulate
> > the new slim remote codes.
>
> One alternative option is to buy a new style remote and turn off
> the JVC codes in the player prefs.

I forgot to mention.. I do have a universal remote.. Just not a learning
one.. And having one more remote to chase isnt desirable.. :)

Darren White
InterStar Inc.
530-224-6866 x 103

Roy M. Silvernail
2004-01-14, 16:20
On Wed, 2004-01-14 at 09:12, Darren White wrote:
> > --- Darren White <tech (AT) shasta (DOT) com> wrote:
> > >
> > > > I have the "old" JVC remote and I have conflicts with my JVC DVD system. I
> > > > now have a Harmony universal remote so I think I have a chance to switch
> > > > IR code to the new Slim specific set. So, can someone advise how I do this
> > > > and how I might setup the Harmony to use the new set without access to the
> > >
> > > Has anyone setup an alternate IR set? I have a JVC DVD player
> > > also, and would love it if my SLiMP3 could use a sony DVD, or
> > > something else.. I don't have a learning universal remote to emulate
> > > the new slim remote codes.
> >
> > One alternative option is to buy a new style remote and turn off
> > the JVC codes in the player prefs.
>
> I forgot to mention.. I do have a universal remote.. Just not a learning
> one.. And having one more remote to chase isnt desirable.. :)

Is it a JP1 programmable remote? If so, there are at least a couple of
Slim remote maps available for it.

<shameless_plug>
I have a OneForAll URC-8910 ($39.95 at Best Buy), and it's amazingly
great. I built up a programming cable for it and proceeded to teach it
everything IR in the house.
</shameless_plug>
--
Roy M. Silvernail is roy (AT) rant-central (DOT) com, and you're not
Never Forget: It's Only 1's and 0's!
SpamAssassin->procmail->/dev/null->bliss
http://www.rant-central.com