PDA

View Full Version : NAS for running SlimServer

jordi.c
2007-08-29, 13:58
Hello,

Now I've collected 3 SqueezeBoxes I'm thinking about a NAS.

I have read some threads here about this topic. The most people advice the Thecus 5200 serie.

In Holland we have three versions:
-Thecus N5200
-Thecus N5200B Pro
-Thecus N5200BR(oustor) Pro

The only difference I can see is that the PRO has 512mb instead of 256mb.

Which one of the three should you recommend?

Is it possible with a NAS to stream HD movies (HD-DVD/Blu-Ray) to a TV concerning HDCP?

I want my songs to be safe so I think I go for RAID5. Is this a secure way of working?

I'm new in the NAS area so every tip/advice is welcome :)

Cheers.
Jordi

aubuti
2007-08-29, 14:21
I want my songs to be safe so I think I go for RAID5. Is this a secure way of working?
Not in my opinion. RAID5 will save you from down time when one of your drives dies, but it won't save you from numerous other hazards like theft, fire, flooding, human error, etc. If you want your songs to be safe you should keep an off-site backup. Among the possibilities are external HDDs, commercial online backup sites, or neighbors (over some type of network).

For example, I run slimserver on a very basic Buffalo LinkStation NAS, and periodically back it up to an external USB HDD that I usually keep in the office. I bring the USB drive home every month or two to update the backup. Any losses in between backups are limited to music I've added or tags I've edited in that month or two, and for the music at least I have the original CDs as a backup.

funkstar
2007-08-29, 14:44
RAID-5 isn't a replacement for backups, but it is definitely a good thing.

The Pro version of the N5200 also has a 1.5GHz processor as opposed to a 600MHz version in the original non-Pro. This makes a pretty big difference with SlimServer and its MySQL database.