PDA

View Full Version : SS on a linux based multi user nas

jaysung
2007-08-21, 06:18
Hi,
my understanding is that Slimserver should have it's music stored in a public folder. I am running SS on a Thecus N5200 and the device is visible from the web. Problem with that is:
everybody knowing of the url should be able to mess arround with my music.
I would like to have SS running under a regular user of the group smbusers. Currently it runs under user nobody id being 99. I can not however set acl permissions for nobody since that user isn't listed under accounts / users.
Omega, do you have an idea how to make the SS module run under a real user? Or is there a way to let SS use a private folder? Any clues are welcome. I have some experience with linux but don't expect too much. I was just happy for Omega having made the SS module so easy to install thanks. Can't say it often enough!

Pellicle
2007-08-24, 14:44
Jaysung,

What is your IP address? ;<)

I think this is a problem as well. I keep mine behind my router.
What services are exposed to the web? Just FTP or the web interface? You can enable https on the web interface and this will at least keep probing eyes out.

Why do you have it exposed to the web and how are you accessing it remotely?

Pellicle
2007-08-31, 20:06
Jaysung,
I don't know whether you resolved this but if not look at the following thread for a fix to allow a private directory.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=38030

jaysung
2007-09-03, 02:27
Pelicle,
I have got ftp exposed to the web and ssh. I wasn't on the forum much since I was thinking about setting up an openvpn connection for my friends. So they would effectively be in my lan and all the problem would be bypassed. Will look at the thread suggested.

mflint
2007-09-03, 03:33
Hi,
my understanding is that Slimserver should have it's music stored in a public folder. I am running SS on a Thecus N5200 and the device is visible from the web. Problem with that is: