PDA

View Full Version : EAC on Ubuntu Fiesty

eparson
2007-08-13, 23:59
I am attempting to run EAC using Wine, the application installed without issue, expect that it is no seeing my CD/DVD drive. I am a Linux newbie and am hoping someone can give me an idea as to what I might try to get it to recognize the drive. Thanks

mherger
2007-08-14, 00:13
> I am attempting to run EAC using Wine, the application installed without
> issue, expect that it is no seeing my CD/DVD drive. I am a Linux newbie
> and am hoping someone can give me an idea as to what I might try to get
> it to recognize the drive. Thanks

I'm not sure this can be done, as EAC is accessing the drive on a very low level. I doubt Wine will allow for that kind of access. But I might be wrong.

Why don't you just use Grip? IMHO it comes close to EAC in accuracy.

Michael

mherger
2007-08-14, 00:27
> I'm not sure this can be done, as EAC is accessing the drive on a very low level. I doubt Wine will allow for that kind of access. But I might be wrong.

Ok, a little googling told me that it was possible. But is it worth the hassle?

Michael

Dougal
2007-08-14, 06:32
I have had eac-095b4 running under wine and it can be made to function, but it is messy.

An alternative secure ripper not found in the repos is rubyripper this can be run from its own directory (gui or cli) and has only a few easily sorted dependencies.

http://rubyripper.googlecode.com/files/rubyripper-0.4.2.tar.bz2

Doug.

Shadowtester
2007-08-14, 06:39
I have EAC running in Kubuntu feisty with wine and have had no problems with it. I just used the EAC setup guide from Pedro's BTmusic tracker on the configuration did not do anything special I am using the lastest ver of wine could also be an issue with your drive I use a ide dvd-+rw drive.

eparson
2007-08-14, 14:14