PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox Through Windows XP ICS

ShutterShock
2007-08-01, 15:17
I'm setting up an ICS (Internet Connection Sharing) server on the same PC that will have Slim Server. It's running XP.

I've never done this before and I'm wondering what problems (if any) I'll have from a client perspective. By that I mean, once I have the ICS server up and running, will Squeezebox automatically be given an IP address from the ICS? From the instructions I've read on the web, it sounds like I have to run a setup on every ICS client to explicitly tell the client (in this case Sqeezebox) that it's connecting to the internet through another computer -- that being the ICS computer. Please see below.

http://www.practicallynetworked.com/sharing/xp_ics/clientwiz.htm

Any help on this would be appreciated.

brucegrr
2007-08-01, 16:36
Is there any reason you don't want to use a router?

A router would make setting things up much easier (IMO)and would still give you the same result (a shared Internet connetction

ShutterShock
2007-08-01, 17:02
Would prefer to use a router but in this case the internet access is through shared Wi-Fi with a neighbor.

Specifically, we have a D-Link wireless adapter in a computer's PCI slot. It's been stand-alone up to this point but now we're putting in a LAN and want to share internet access throughout the LAN. Coinciding with this is the addition of a Squeezebox and Slim Server. If there's a way of doing this with a router, I'm certainly interested.

jwcurtin
2007-08-02, 01:10
Would prefer to use a router but in this case the internet access is through shared Wi-Fi with a neighbor.

Well, unless you trust your neighbor more than you trust yourself I'd want security nailed down tight.