PDA

View Full Version : Help - how do I upgrade Slimserver software on my QNAPS?



gsrai
2007-08-01, 03:17
Hiya

I'm really hoping someone can help me out please.

I bought a QNAPS drive with slimserver preinstalled so all I did was effectively plug the QNAPS in and once the squeezebox was connected off I went.

Problem is that slimserver tells me a new version is avaialbe to download but I dont know how to install it no the QNAPS.

I'm not overly techie and am nervous that if I do something silly I will stop a working system from erm....working!

Can someone give me an idiots guide of how to upgrade slimserver please

ultra238a
2007-08-03, 08:31
Hi,

We will be posting a SS 6.5.3 for TS-101 update on our website over the weekend.

Simply download the package in to your updates folder in your TS-101 Public share and restart your TS-101. The package will install on reboot automatically.

Don't un-pack the package yourself.
Don't alter the package in anyway.

Easy

gsrai
2007-08-08, 02:15
Thanks for that but I dont recall seeing an updates directory in my public drive - do I need to create one?

I know it sounds silly but where are these updats kept, could you give me a link please.