PDA

View Full Version : Where's SlimServer Installed (Debian)

Jam
2007-07-31, 13:48
Probably a really dumb question, but I'm new to SlimServer and Linux.

Where is my SlimServer install directory? I've installed the Debian package onto a Debian box.

I want to install AlienBBC and the instructions state to un-tar it into the main slimserver directory. "This is usually: /usr/local/slimserver"

I don't have this dir. I also can't find slimserver.pl anywhere on the system.

I do have a /usr/share/slimserver directory which contains (among other things) a HTML folder which I think is for web interface skins. But no slimserver.pl which I understood to be the main SlimServer program/scipt?

mlsstl
2007-07-31, 14:10
At a terminal window, try typing "whereis slimserver" (without quote marks) and see what it tells you. Are you sure your install process was successful?

Jam
2007-07-31, 14:15
It returns:
slimserver: /usr/sbin/slimserver /etc/slimserver /usr/share/slimserver

There isn't a slimserver.pl in any of those?

Install definately correct, I'm streaming my library to softsqueeze.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-31, 14:19
I don't know if Debian uses Synaptic - Ubuntu (a Debian derivative) does. Locate the package using Search or by browsing through the filters on the bottom right.

Right-click - Properties - Installed Files.

But mlsstl's suggestion of "whereis" is much quicker.

snarlydwarf
2007-07-31, 14:28
Where is my SlimServer install directory? I've installed the Debian package onto a Debian box.

There are lots of install directories... so that term is kind of meaningless.

I want to install AlienBBC and the instructions state to un-tar it into the main slimserver directory. "This is usually: /usr/local/slimserver"

The Plugins directory on Debian is /usr/share/slimserver/Plugins/, so they probably mean /usr/share/slimserver.

I don't have this dir. I also can't find slimserver.pl anywhere on the system.

It isn't .pl. It is just slimserver. It is in /usr/sbin.