PDA

View Full Version : Updated firmware, now SB3 won't start



Jon Geraghty
2007-07-30, 07:04
I've not been using my SB3 for a while and having moved into a new flat I decided today to set it all up. So I reinstalled Slimserver (6.5.3), scanned all my music files and then connected and plugged in the SB3.

It connected up to my slimserver fine but then recommended a firmware update. So I dutifully held down <brightness> on the remote and set it updating. It then gave some message like "restarting, this may take a minute" and the display went blank never to return to life. I waited 10 minutes and tried removing/reinserting the power lead but to no avail. I also tried holding down <power> for many seconds, and even holding <add> upon reinserting the power lead to do a factory reset.

Still no luck. I did wonder if the power adapter had fused or something but I do get a red light at the back of the SB3 so it appears to be getting juice.

I've just sent a tech support email but in the interim has anyone here heard of anything like this? Any recommendations?

adhawkins
2007-07-31, 08:42
Hi,

In article <Jon.Geraghty.2ujeub1185804301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>,
Jon Geraghty<Jon.Geraghty.2ujeub1185804301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
> It connected up to my slimserver fine but then recommended a firmware
> update. So I dutifully held down <brightness> on the remote and set it
> updating. It then gave some message like "restarting, this may take a
> minute" and the display went blank never to return to life. I waited 10
> minutes and tried removing/reinserting the power lead but to no avail. I
> also tried holding down <power> for many seconds, and even holding <add>
> upon reinserting the power lead to do a factory reset.

I had something similar happen to me one time after a firmware update. Try
pressing the 'Brightness' button on the remote a few times. I think somehow
it had got set to minimum brightness (i.e. display off) during the update.

Andy

Jon Geraghty
2007-07-31, 13:41
Hi Andy,

Just tried that and still no joy sadly. I tried all manner of button pressing/holding and I'm not getting a peep out of the thing :/

Heh, I even worried that somehow the remote battery had gone coincidentally as I was updating so I tried replacing them a few times!

Thanks anyhow,

- Jon

slimkid
2007-07-31, 13:45
re-install the older version of slimserver - that might get it to reload the old firmware and get back to life.

Jon Geraghty
2007-07-31, 14:37
Thanks Slimkid, gave that a try (now back to 6.2.1) but the Squeezebox is still dead. Slimserver is running happily though.

I do notice that the SB3 is pretty hot while it is plugged in, is that normal?

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-31, 14:46
I do notice that the SB3 is pretty hot while it is plugged in, is that normal?

Normal.

Have you tried a factory reset? Unplug power, press and hold ADD, replug power. If you can't get any activity after a factory reset, it's dead. Contact support.

Jon Geraghty
2007-07-31, 15:02
Normal.

Have you tried a factory reset? Unplug power, press and hold ADD, replug power. If you can't get any activity after a factory reset, it's dead. Contact support.
Yeah, I tried the ADD thing, factory reset didn't do anything. I'm waiting to hear back from support, see what they can come up with.

Ta,

- Jon

Russell
2007-08-01, 17:28
And this, I am sad to say, is why the Squeezebox will never be anything but
a techie toy.

It is too complicated for the average user, too buggy, etc., etc.

I am not a great Windows fan but if Windows needed an upgrade every single,
at least that is my impression, I would have gone back to a typewriter a
long time ago.

Russ

PS - I do miss my Audiotron, simple, and it worked. Would have kept it if
it had supported FLAC.


----- Original Message -----
From: "Jon Geraghty"
<Jon.Geraghty.2ujeub1185804301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>
To: <discuss (AT) lists (DOT) slimdevices.com>
Sent: Monday, July 30, 2007 10:04 AM
Subject: [slim] Updated firmware, now SB3 won't start


>
> I've not been using my SB3 for a while and having moved into a new flat
> I decided today to set it all up. So I reinstalled Slimserver (6.5.3),
> scanned all my music files and then connected and plugged in the SB3.
>
> It connected up to my slimserver fine but then recommended a firmware
> update. So I dutifully held down <brightness> on the remote and set it
> updating. It then gave some message like "restarting, this may take a
> minute" and the display went blank never to return to life. I waited 10
> minutes and tried removing/reinserting the power lead but to no avail. I
> also tried holding down <power> for many seconds, and even holding <add>
> upon reinserting the power lead to do a factory reset.
>
> Still no luck. I did wonder if the power adapter had fused or something
> but I do get a red light at the back of the SB3 so it appears to be
> getting juice.
>
> I've just sent a tech support email but in the interim has anyone here
> heard of anything like this? Any recommendations?
>
>
> --
> Jon Geraghty
> ------------------------------------------------------------------------
> Jon Geraghty's Profile:
> http://forums.slimdevices.com/member.php?userid=12577
> View this thread: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=37224
>
>