PDA

View Full Version : Track playing display problem - Newbie !



webrits
2007-07-29, 05:44
Apologies if this is a "User" problem but I'm a Squeezebox virgin !

When playing an album the display shows the track details of the track I started playing from. ie: I'll start playing from track 3, then even if its playing track 6, track 3 will still be on the display!! Is this a bug or is it a setting I'm missing somewhere. I would have thought the behaviour I want would have been the 'default'.

Many Thanks.

Paul

dcote
2007-07-31, 03:41
yeah, i found that slightly confusing at first too.

press the "now playing" button to active the real-time display of the currently playing track.

when you browse to a song and press play, you are essentialy still in "browse" mode, which does not show the currently playing track. in theory, this allows you to continue browsing and add stuff to your playlist, while SB is playing.

what i find slightly more irritating is that "now playing" is only a button away, but going back to where i was just browsing is a major navigational issue. ;-)

dom

davep
2007-07-31, 04:14
You can make this happen automatically after a set time by using the "Now Playing" screensaver. This is set up under the "Player Settings" menu, you can choose what is displayed and what is the delay time before it kicks in.

davep

htrd
2007-08-07, 01:42
dcote wrote:
> you are essentialy still in "browse" mode, which does not show
> the currently playing track....... press the "now playing"
> button to active the real-time display of the currently playing
> track.

davep wrote:
> You can make this happen automatically after a set time by using the
> "Now Playing" screensaver.

But the "Now Playing" screensaver has one quirk which means that it doesnt
quite satisfy this requirement for me - It will not switch back to the
currently playing track if your "browsing" position happens to be at some
other part of the current playlist. (although it will from every other
browse position)

Its a feature :-( http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3134