PDA

View Full Version : Harmony 880 Issue



geoffb
2007-07-23, 13:23
Hi All,

I use the Harmony 880, and love it, but still haven't found a way to
solve the issue of needing to hold down a button for some operations
(most commonly, the Power button to force a restart).

I can't find this in Default.map (I was hoping to remap it to a custom
keypress).

Has anyone found a way of solving this either by forcing a new key for
the same operation, or through some kind of Harmony setup wizardry?

Cheers,
Geoff

kdf
2007-07-23, 13:28
Quoting Geoff B <geoffbon (AT) gmail (DOT) com>:

> Hi All,
>
> I use the Harmony 880, and love it, but still haven't found a way to
> solve the issue of needing to hold down a button for some operations
> (most commonly, the Power button to force a restart).

Those special functions are not part of slimserver software thus not
found in Default.map. They are embedded in the firmware and for the
most part require the real SD remote. One thing you could try is to
Learn IR on the very long hold functions and see if that works. I've
not tried it myself, as I prefer using the new remote for SB as I keep
losing track of which button does what on the 880.

-kdf

geoffb
2007-07-23, 14:20
On 7/23/07, kdf wrote:
> Those special functions are not part of slimserver software

Thanks, KDF - I was afraid of that. I'll try doing a learn on a long
hold, but I'm not holding out much hope...
Has anyone else managed to work around this issue with the 880? It
repeats enough to do things like 'Add Next' (press-hold 'Add'), just
not enough for a forced reboot or firmware update.

> I prefer using the new remote for SB as I keep
> losing track of which button does what on the 880.
I found the same thing at first - but now I have it pretty much set up
right, it makes more sense. All I need to do now is map the menu jump
points (browse artists, browse genres, etc) to soft buttons, and solve
the hold-power issue, and I'll be happy-happy. I saw the jump points
in the Default.map, so I'm going to make a custom.map and dig around
to see if I can make it work.

Cheers,
Geoff