PDA

View Full Version : Streaming Wav From Flac



HalNineThousand
2007-07-23, 08:02
I posted earlier that I was considering getting a Squeezebox. I'll be picking it up soon, but I'm also interested in using software players so I can play the same streams from my computer. All the info I've found continually refers to using http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3 as the URL for getting the music stream from SlimServer (and, of course, replacing localhost with an ip address when needed). That is working, but I'm getting static in the playback (both the server and player are on the same system, which has 2 GB RAM and a fast CPU). I'd also like to be able to use WAV streams instead of MP3. I tried changing the mp3 to wav on the end of the URL, but it when I do, I don't get any sound and the playback program (VLC on Linux, Ubuntu Feisty) doesn't seem to see any evidence of a stream. When I've gone through the info and searched, everything that refers to using a playback device other than Squeezebox always refers to stream.mp3.

How can I stream a WAV format instead of MP3? For now I'm doing it on computers, but I want to try a few more things and would like to have devices read WAV instead of MP3.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-23, 12:58
All the info I've found continually refers to using http://localhost:9000/stream.mp3 as the URL for getting the music stream from SlimServer (and, of course, replacing localhost with an ip address when needed). That is working, but I'm getting static in the playback (both the server and player are on the same system, which has 2 GB RAM and a fast CPU).

Very bizarre. Have you played around with the Player Settings - Audio - Bitrate Limiting setting and Lame Quality Level setting? How's the processor load when you transcode? (At a Lame Quality Level of 0, it brought my old 2.8 GHz Pentium 4 to its knees. My new Core 2 Duo may fare better, but it's still not an easy task at 0-1-2 quality settings.)


I'd also like to be able to use WAV streams instead of MP3. I tried changing the mp3 to wav on the end of the URL, but it when I do, I don't get any sound and the playback program (VLC on Linux, Ubuntu Feisty) doesn't seem to see any evidence of a stream. When I've gone through the info and searched, everything that refers to using a playback device other than Squeezebox always refers to stream.mp3.

How can I stream a WAV format instead of MP3? For now I'm doing it on computers, but I want to try a few more things and would like to have devices read WAV instead of MP3.

You can't stream WAV or FLAC with SlimServer, nothing but MP3 to a software client. Have you tried SoftSqueeze? You can stream WAV or FLAC to SoftSqueeze and kind of-sort of synch with your Squeezebox (synch doesn't work that well with SoftSqueeze unfortunately).

HalNineThousand
2007-07-23, 14:30
When I tried using lame at the higher settings, I had the same kind of problem you describe. It slowed down the system. Playback was jerky.

After listening again, I've noticed that it tends to be certain notes or when it reaches a certain loudness that I get static, as if lame might be limiting the volume in conversion.

I looked for Softsqueeze. Is there another interface to SlimServer other than the browser interface? I didn't find any kind of "Help" choice and I tried from the command line to find any kind of program starting with "soft" and there was no Softserver.

So am I stuck with MP3 streams on anything I try to hack together on my own? Does Slimserver only put out an MP3 stream? Or is there a WAV stream the Squeezeboxes get? I would think if a Squeezebox could get the WAV stream than anything could get it.

JJZolx
2007-07-23, 14:41
I would think if a Squeezebox could get the WAV stream than anything could get it.

Sure, anything that can emulate a Squeezebox and use SlimProto to talk to SlimServer.

What exactly do want to do? If you're talking about using software players on the local network, most of them can just play the Flac files directly.

bpa
2007-07-23, 14:42
An alternative to SoftSqueeze is squeezeslave essentially Softsqueeze without the Java interface
https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=105169

Alternative interface to control Slimserver is the CLI interface.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-23, 15:02
I'm considering something like this:

http://devices.natetrue.com/musicap/

with a few changes for use in my garage and outside so I'm using something inexpensive in the places where I don't want a more expensive unit. Also, as a hacker, I have a few other ideas I'd like to experiment with.

I don't need a display (I know a lot of people do). I'm thinking I could make a few units that would be controlled with a wifi PDA. I may look at the code and see how easy it would be to write a program to use SlimProto or to just create a WAV stream from SlimServer. I don't have a lot of time now, but I can probably start looking into it.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 06:21
After listening again, I've noticed that it tends to be certain notes or when it reaches a certain loudness that I get static, as if lame might be limiting the volume in conversion.

Sounds like clipping? What version of LAME have you installed? Are the original FLACs clipped this way? (You may want to look at them closely in Audacity - if they hit + 0 dBFS or - 0 dBFS and stay there for a bit then that's digital clipping, which is very common on CDs today. It's noticeable but this sounds like more than that.)


I looked for Softsqueeze. Is there another interface to SlimServer other than the browser interface? I didn't find any kind of "Help" choice and I tried from the command line to find any kind of program starting with "soft" and there was no Softserver.

SlimServer - Help - SoftSqueeze.


Does Slimserver only put out an MP3 stream? Or is there a WAV stream the Squeezeboxes get? I would think if a Squeezebox could get the WAV stream than anything could get it.

No, not anything. The WAV or MP3 is broken up in SlimProto packets. You have to get something that understands SlimProto.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 09:05
I haven't analyzed the files, but I've listened to them many times and I also tested a variety of files and had the same problem on all of them.

Lame, on this system, is 3.96.1.

There isn't even a place on my menu on my Slimserver interface that says "Slimserver." I even searched for the word and it didn't come up. Could downloading and using a different skin make a difference (it comes with a Debian skin installed by default)?

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 09:19
There isn't even a place on my menu on my Slimserver interface that says "Slimserver." I even searched for the word and it didn't come up. Could downloading and using a different skin make a difference (it comes with a Debian skin installed by default)?

No, what I meant is look for it in SlimServer. Help section, the bottom one on the main page, SoftSqueeze is the 3rd-last item near the bottom.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 09:36
Just to be clear, you do mean on the web interface that I get to at http://localhost:9000/ ? If not, I'm confused and unclear where I'm supposed to be looking. There is nowhere on that page that the word Slimserver appears. I even searched for it. Does Slimserver have some other GUI or interface?

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 09:54
Yes, that's the SlimServer web interface. There are really not many more ways to access SlimServer. I just state "SlimServer" when the thread discusses multiple programs.

See the attached screenshot. I would have highlighted the SoftSqueeze section, but my graphics program is fighting me today. It's on the left, 3rd item from the bottom.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 10:04
Okay, I see. That is completely different than what I get. Are you using the default skin? I'm going to search and check out the skins. Obviously the skin I'm using left out some links. Does anyone know if Softsqueeze is left out of the Debian/Ubuntu packages?

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 10:24
That's off the default skin. I'm running Ubuntu 7.04 AMD64 and using Swiftweasel (processor and speed-optimized Firefox) as the web browser.

SoftSqueeze is included, but doesn't run on the current JRE 1.6 with Ubuntu. You have to backdate to JRE 1.5. Well, on 1.6 it runs once, then never again.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 10:57
Something is weird, then. I'm not clear if the listing of choices on the left is part of your actual screenshot or not, but it's not what I get. I've attached a snapshot on my interface, using Firefox, so it should be the same.

Thanks for the heads up on Java 6. I'll downgrade to Java 5 (hey, I still prefer Java 1.4.2 -- I think the others have come out so quickly, I'm still uneasy about how buggy they are).

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 11:04
The listing of choices on the left is part of the screenshot.

In regards to your screenshot, I'm not sure what skin that is, and it looks broken. You can change it in Server Settings - Interface.

If you can't get to Server Settings because the skin is so badly broken the link no longer exists, then try http://localhost:9000/default

No wonder why you're having problems with SlimServer!

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 11:18
The only interface choice is "Debian." When I try to specify any skin other than the Debian one, I get a blank page. You and I are running the same version of Ubuntu, so it should look the same. Did you install Slimserver with apt?

I uninstalled Slimserver then reinstalled it, even reconfigured it with dpkg-reconfigure, but there's no difference. This doesn't seem to be an issue on Ubuntu forums.

I found Slimserver in /usr/share/slimserver/ and checked the HTML directory in that directory. It has one subdirectory: Debian. Could you check the /usr/share/slimserver/HTML dir on your drive and see what skins it lists?

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 11:23
The only interface choice is "Debian." When I try to specify any skin other than the Debian one, I get a blank page. You and I are running the same version of Ubuntu, so it should look the same. Did you install Slimserver with apt?

I uninstalled Slimserver then reinstalled it, even reconfigured it with dpkg-reconfigure, but there's no difference. This doesn't seem to be an issue on Ubuntu forums.

I found Slimserver in /usr/share/slimserver/ and checked the HTML directory in that directory. It has one subdirectory: Debian. Could you check the /usr/share/slimserver/HTML dir on your drive and see what skins it lists?

Aha. No, I installed this via the Logitech-recommended way:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DebianPackage

The Ubuntu-maintained version is rather old IIRC (6.3.1?) and looks to me to be modified, and not for the better! It really looks broken.

In /usr/share/slimserver/HTML I have:


mark@Sauron:/usr/share/slimserver/HTML$ ls
Bagpuss Default ExBrowse3 Handheld NBMU Purple Touch xmlTelCanto
Dark EN Fishbone Moser Nokia770 README.txt xml

I'm running 6.5.1.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 13:53
Now I have all the files and directories in the HTML directory to match yours, but my interface looks terrible -- not even anything clickable! It's got some of the text, but it's a mess (see screenshot). I tried it on Konqueror, too, and it's the same. I have to pick up my car from the shop, so I'll look at it when I get back to see if I can figure out anything. I even tried different skins and still got either blank pages or 404 errors. When I get back, I'm going to uninstall, make sure the directories are wiped, then reinstall. I'll let you know how it works then.

Just added: Got back, uninstalled, directory was gone, reinstalled, still just get a lot of text, one list box (empty) and that's it. Screenshot now attached.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 14:09
Reinstall using the instructions in the wiki, not from apt-get.

I would ask what version you have, but given how your pages look, the link is probably missing. Your SB3 will report it in Player Settings - Information - Server Settings though. Anyway, it doesn't matter what version you have, you should get rid of it...

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 14:13
You mean use the Wiki instructions to use the package from the Slimdevices repository? I'm currently using the package supplied after I followed the Wiki instructions on this page:

http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DebianPackage

That's the setup that has given me the text only display -- with no working links and with a 404 error whenever I try to read another skin. I'm using http://localhost:9000 to access my server, which is what worked before.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 14:18
You mean use the Wiki instructions to use the package from the Slimdevices repository?

Yes.


I've specified that package and that's the one that gives me all the text only.

I thought you said you obtained what you have now using apt-get? Is it the Ubuntu package or the Logitech package you ended up getting?

Now my question about what version of SlimServer it is is more relevant - Ubuntu's package is 6.3.1 or something, Logitech's is currently 6.5.3.

If it turns out this is 6.5.3, flush Firefox's cache, but the fact that you can't load other skins using the http://localhost:9000/<skin name> trick means things are horribly broken.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 14:33
I started with the Ubuntu repository and got the one that gave me the first screenshot, all black, with a small area that says "Debian" in the upper left side. Then when I got the info on the Wiki link, I added the Slimdevices repository to my sources.list, updated, then checked which packages were involved and installed, specifying the package version for the one in the Slimdevices repository. I've tried running the program from the command line to get the version, but there doesn't seem to be an option to show the version.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-24, 14:34
Then when I got the info on the Wiki link, I added the Slimdevices repository to my sources.list, updated, then checked which packages were involved and installed, specifying the package version for the one in the Slimdevices repository.

Did you uninstall the previous one first?

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 14:44
Yes. Made sure of it. After installing the new one and still having the problem, I uninstalled it, made sure the directory was no longer there, then reinstalled it (making sure it was the right one), and did a dpkg-reconfigure slimserver to be sure it was set up properly with no chance of settings "hangover."

HalNineThousand
2007-07-24, 19:25
I got fed up and could not see anything to logically explain what was going wrong with the web interface. Then I realized I was working on my workstation, which is Ubuntu Feisty Fawn, and that in the long run, I wanted to run Slimserver on my main server. (I don't like to set something up on that server until I know I can make it work and won't end up with some odd mix of packages and such.) The server is still on Debian Sarge (one of these days I've got to upgrade to Etch!). I added the Slimdevices repository and installed Slimserver.

Not only is it working fine (mostly -- doesn't see my playlists!), but my Squeezebox came in at the local store today so I picked it up and it's working fine.

So, for now, the big problem is solved. I'm still looking at the possibility of adding some cheap playback clients, either by buying some Nokia 770s or by using OpenWRT with a router and USB sound card.

Thank you, to everyone, for the help and especially to those who stayed with the topic until now. I'm thrilled to have my squeezebox working, which means I can set it up with my stereo and as soon as I get a chance, I'm finally going to take the big plunge and add wireless to my system so I can hear my tunes on my porch (where I spend all my relaxing time in the summer) without being restricted to one CD at a time.

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-25, 06:09
Glad to see it's working, although though a complete change of OS...

In regards to playlists, check that paths in the playlists are valid and that all file locations the playlist references have the proper permissions.

If you ever return to your original faulty Ubuntu install, the first thing would be a complete removal of SlimServer through Synaptic using the "Mark for complete removal" (double-checking that slimserver.pref gets deleted), then reinstall and flush Firefox's cache.

HalNineThousand
2007-07-25, 12:40
I'm going one step more. I considered just giving up on the Ubuntu install, since I don't need it, but I like to know what causes problems like that so I'm ready to deal with them again. For all I know, the issue could be a bug in Slimserver and it would help me and everyone if I found out that was it.

I also have plans to use some cheaper devices out in my garage and on the porch. I wouldn't be syncing music out there and usually wouldn't need a display for anything. If I experiment, I'd want to do it on a separate server.