PDA

View Full Version : Connecting SB directly to MacBook



steelhead
2007-07-21, 18:59
I want to connect my SB directly to my MacBook as I've been having troubles with my home wireless connection and current can't play my music through the 'standard' wireless configuration.

In FAQs, I found some instructions on connecting SB to Windows PC without a router or access point, but not for Mac (this is also mentioned in the Troubleshooting section of the Owner's Guide). Any Mac set-up advice?

If I can connect my SB directly to my MacBook can I still use (simultaneously) my wireless network for internet access? I'm currently able to access the net via my router/wireless network, but can't play my music (due to low buffer fullness/packet dropping -- I think).

Thanks much.

Eric Seaberg
2007-07-21, 19:03
I assume you're connecting ethernet between the Book and SB3 with the Book being the server? If you DON'T use a hub/switch then you need a crossover cable for the ethernet connection to work. You could always have the Book create a wireless network and try having the SB3 look to it...

can you give us any more info on your system??!

steelhead
2007-07-21, 19:18
I assume you're connecting ethernet between the Book and SB3 with the Book being the server?

Yes - this is exactly what I was thinking.

Is a crossover cable the same as a 'standard' ethernet cable, like the cable I would use to connect my router to my computer? I had not heard the term crossover before looking into this.

What other system info would be helpful...I'm on a MacBook (Intel Core 2 Duo; 2GB; 667 MHz) w/ OS X v10.4.10. I have an Airport Extreme router. We have a broadband wireless ISP (we're in a rural setting).

My network + SB interface worked great until our ISP went down earlier this week. Since coming back online, I haven't been able to listen to my music -- it's all choppy. This is why I'm looking at the direct SB - MacBook connection.

Cheers.

pfarrell
2007-07-21, 19:20
steelhead wrote:
> In FAQs, I found some instructions on connecting SB to Windows PC
> without a router or access point, but not for Mac (this is also
> mentioned in the Troubleshooting section of the Owner's Guide). Any
> Mac set-up advice?

I'm sure you'll get some.
I can answer about Windoze and Linux, but can't spell Mac. :-)
And of course not many people have serious technical chops about Macs
since they just work. (tm).

The basics of the networking are the same, but the menus, gui, etc. will
be different

> If I can connect my SB directly to my MacBook can I still use
> (simultaneously) my wireless network for internet access? I'm
> currently able to access the net via my router/wireless network, but
> can't play my music (due to low buffer fullness/packet dropping -- I
> think).

Yes, you should be able to talk WiFi to the internet and wired to your
Mac. You just need to turn on two connections. Windows and Linux have
some sort of "network configuration" panel where you have to turn them on.

With a direct wire (crossover) or thru a hub, you will have to assign
fixed TCP/IP addresses to both your Mac's ethernet jack and to the
SqueezeBox. Just pick something like 172.16.1.2 for the Mac, and
172.16.1.10 for the SqueezeBox. Netmasks, etc are not important.

Be careful, while you won't hurt anything, if you use a crossover cable
when you are talking to a hub, or use a straight wire as a crossover, it
will make lights blink but nothing will work. You won't be able to tell
why, and you will pull your hair out. That is why all of my crossover
cables are bright orange and have big labels on them.

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

pfarrell
2007-07-21, 19:25
steelhead wrote:
> Is a crossover cable the same as a 'standard' ethernet cable, like the
> cable I would use to connect my router to my computer? I had not heard
> the term crossover before looking into this.

Almost. A crossover cable looks externally exactly like a standard
ethernet cable, but internally the transmit wire on one end connects to
the receive end on the other. Or maybe it is the transmit connects to
the transmit. Its been a while since I made on.

Normally you connect a PC/Mac/thing to a wire that goes to a
hub/switch/router. You take another thing/PC/Mac, connect it with a wire
to the same hub/switch/router. The first thing yacks out to the hub,
which relays it back to the second. And vice versa.

With a crossover cable, you skip the hub, but you need a different
internal wiring.

Which is why in the earlier post I mentioned pulling my hair out when I
get them confused.

You need a $100 tester (or talent and a continuity tester and a steady
hand) to tell them apart.

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

steelhead
2007-07-21, 19:31
Thanks again, Pat. Not sure on how to assign the fixed IP address to my Mac ethernet jack though.

Advice for a neophyte...anyone?

Just saw a related post in the General Section:

Upgrading from WiFi to Wired Ethernet

pfarrell
2007-07-21, 19:39
steelhead wrote:
> Thanks again, Pat. Not sure on how to assign the fixed IP address to my
> Mac ethernet jack though.
> Advice for a neophyte...anyone?

Drive around in whatever control panel you use to setup networking.


> Just saw a related post in the General Section:
> Upgrading from WiFi to Wired Ethernet

That is related.
Perhaps I should stop answering so someone who can spell Mac can get a
word in edgewise

steelhead
2007-07-22, 18:41
My SB is now directly connected to my MacBook via ethernet cable.

Here's the process

Mac

System Preferences > Network > Show "Built-in Ethernet"

>Configure IPv4: Manually

Enter IP Address and then assign IP address to SB at the set-up prompt for a static IP.

Hope this helps.

Thank you to all -- with a special thanks to Pat -- for your help,

Phil

snoogly
2008-08-02, 15:37
I would like to make a direct SB3 > Mac connection on my computer at work. However, it is at a university, and I can't change my IP address. There may be Firewall issues.

Is it likely to be a lost cause?

brillo
2008-08-02, 16:19
Recent macs don't require that a crossover cable be used.

See http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2274