PDA

View Full Version : choppy music via slimserver



steelhead
2007-07-21, 04:55
I have a new problem with my Squeezebox: all of a sudden, all music played over slimserver is choppy, I cannot listen to any tracks. I've had my Squeezebox for just over a month and it had been working fine.

I get a clear signal with Squeezenetwork.

I briefly talked with someone at Loigitech yesterday. As a next diagnostic, he suggested I connect my Squeezebox directly to my router and ck it out with headphones. I have the same problem. There are no issues with the signal - it's at 99-100%.

Now what?

I'm on Mac (Intel) OS X v10.4.10

Slimserver v6.5.2

Thanks for any advice on how to get m listening to my music again with my Squeezebox,

Phil

Robin Bowes
2007-07-21, 07:58
steelhead wrote:
> I have a new problem with my Squeezebox: all of a sudden, all music
> played over slimserver is choppy, I cannot listen to any tracks. I've
> had my Squeezebox for just over a month and it had been working fine.
>
> I get a clear signal with Squeezenetwork.
>
> I'm on Mac (Intel) OS X v10.4.10
>
> Slimserver v6.5.2
>
> Thanks for any advice on how to get m listening to my music again with
> my Squeezebox,

More information please:

1. How are you starting slimserver?
2. What model of SB you are using?
3. Are you connecting wired or wirelessly?
4. Are you using static IP or DHCP?

Sounds like a wireless issue, i.e. not enough bandwidth to stream
flac/wav. I have a similar problem with one of my SB3s at the other end
of the house - it has a poor wireless signal.

Maybe something happened to degrade your wireless connection recently?

R.

steelhead
2007-07-21, 08:08
Thanks, Robin, for the reply. Here are some answers

1. How are you starting slimserver?
via browser and also tried from Squeezebox.

2. What model of SB you are using?
v3

3. Are you connecting wired or wirelessly?
wireless...have connected my SB directly too my router where signal is 100%. Same problem.

4. Are you using static IP or DHCP?
DHCP.


Maybe something happened to degrade your wireless connection recently?

Are internet did go down, but this has happened before. Have not encountered any other problems w/ wireless (e.g. streaming video).

pfarrell
2007-07-21, 08:21
steelhead wrote:
> 1. How are you starting slimserver?
> via browser and also tried from Squeezebox.

This is how you access slimserver. Not how you start the slimserver
process. There are many ways to start the slimserver server software,
and usually there are several ways on each OS.

I don' speak Mac, but Windows uses can start it manually, in their
startup group, as a service, etc.

How does it start?

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

steelhead
2007-07-21, 08:35
Pat - I'm not clear on why this is important. I have not had a problem w/ starting/accessing slimserver.

pfarrell
2007-07-21, 08:45
steelhead wrote:
> Pat - I'm not clear on why this is important. I have not had a problem
> w/ starting/accessing slimserver.

I'm not sure either, it was Robin who asked. I'm just pointing out that
you answered a different question. Sometimes software, applications and
operating system interact in weird and mysterious ways.

I know that many problems with Windows users running SlimServer and
accessing network drives are controlled by whether it is run as a
"service" or as a program. Its the same program on the same box with the
same OS, but it runs differently.

Pat

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

Triode
2007-07-21, 08:48
Please try the steps outlined on the wiki and report back what measurements you get:
http://wiki.slimdevices.com/index.cgi?DiagnosingPerformanceIssues

bflatmajor
2007-07-21, 08:53
First, I'm not an expert in networking wireless or wired, but I do work with network engineers, so I have resources that I talk to.

I used to experience the same issue as you and it's been resolved for over a year now. So here are some of the things I did;

Updated wireless router's firmware

Changed the configuration on my wireless card to use 'G' mode.
Ensured that everything on my network was running in 'G' mode.

Changed the routers configuration to process specifically in 'G' mode not 802.11b not 802.11c not 802.11d not 802.11e and not in mix mode. You get the picture. :-)

Changed the threshold and mtu setting in the router, this has to do with packet size.
It sounds like you are dropping packets.

And purchased and installed a router extender antenna.

With all the above changes, I get excellent wireless signal in my home of approximately 4000sf.

Squeezebox suffers no dropouts or stuttering. Laptop internet access is excellent even when outside.

Those are the things that I've done that have improve my overall network wireless signal.

router= linksys wrt54gs
SB = SB2

various computers running all in 'G' mode not mixed..

Hope something that I've mentioned helps you.

steelhead
2007-07-21, 08:55
< 10 : 0 : 0%
< 20 : 0 : 0%
< 30 : 0 : 0%
< 40 : 0 : 0%
< 50 : 0 : 0%
< 60 : 0 : 0%
< 70 : 0 : 0%
< 75 : 0 : 0%
< 80 : 1 :100% ##################################################
< 85 : 0 : 0%
< 90 : 0 : 0%
< 95 : 0 : 0%
< 100 : 0 : 0%
>=100 : 0 : 0%
max : 75.510204
min : 75.510204
avg : 75.510204

Triode
2007-07-21, 09:06
If you leave that going for a while and refresh the display what does the graph show? [the one you posted only shows one reading]

steelhead
2007-07-21, 09:14
Thanks...hadn't used this before:

< 10 : 143 : 14% ######
< 20 : 373 : 35% #################
< 30 : 267 : 25% ############
< 40 : 27 : 3% #
< 50 : 0 : 0%
< 60 : 0 : 0%
< 70 : 0 : 0%
< 75 : 0 : 0%
< 80 : 1 : 0%
< 85 : 0 : 0%
< 90 : 0 : 0%
< 95 : 0 : 0%
< 100 : 1 : 0%
>=100 : 244 : 23% ###########
max : 100.000000
min : 1.020408
avg : 36.504716

steelhead
2007-07-21, 09:22
< 10 : 143 : 9% ####
< 20 : 373 : 24% ############
< 30 : 267 : 17% ########
< 40 : 27 : 2%
< 50 : 0 : 0%
< 60 : 0 : 0%
< 70 : 0 : 0%
< 75 : 0 : 0%
< 80 : 1 : 0%
< 85 : 0 : 0%
< 90 : 0 : 0%
< 95 : 0 : 0%
< 100 : 1 : 0%
>=100 : 719 : 47% #######################
max : 100.000000
min : 1.020408
avg : 56.204429

erland
2007-07-21, 09:26
Choppiness can also be caused by an overloaded computer.
I had a similar problem recently and the cause was that some background jobs, that had nothing to do with SlimServer, where overloading the server computer at the time.

I have also had a similar problem when my laptop overloaded the wireless network due to some indexing services, which by accident had been configured to also index network disks. The result was that I got choppy sound on the SqueezeBox since it was connected to the same wireless access point as the laptop.

Triode
2007-07-21, 10:03
The 100% counter is going up, but the others ones arn't. If you reset and restart the test does it only show 100%. If so this would indicate the network is ok, if not then there is a problem with the network.

You can look at the player display while the test is running - is the bar graph constantly at 100% or does it drop?

steelhead
2007-07-21, 10:09
It's dropping off -- bouncing all over.

Based on this test, I'm thinking the issue is with our wifi ISP. As previously mentioned, I had not had sustained issues before we lost service earlier this week; issues began after we went back online.

At times, signal strength would drop off, but we would only experience choppiness a few times per week, at max...and it was never a sustaining issue. Typically, I could hit pause and and then re-start and issue would be over with.

Does it make sense that the issue might very well be with the ISP?

Recommendations on next steps?

steelhead
2007-07-21, 10:12
showing low buffer fullness - others OK

How do I improve buffer fullness?

Triode
2007-07-21, 10:27
It does look like the issue is with your network, but I assume the server and player are both at your home. In which case although the wireless router may be provided by your ISP it is just the wireless network in your home which has a problem.

I suspect your ISP will consider this your issue to resolve.
Try wiring both the server and player to the router directly - does it go away. If so what happens if you change the wireless channel on the router.

steelhead
2007-07-21, 11:13
I'll have to get another e-net cord to try that.

Thanks much for all your advice...I suspect I'll post again at beginning of the week.

Robin Bowes
2007-07-21, 16:13
steelhead wrote:
> I'll have to get another e-net cord to try that.
>
> Thanks much for all your advice...I suspect I'll post again at
> beginning of the week.

Looks like it is a wireless networking issue.

Hope you get it sorted.

R.

PS.

Note to gdg:

Please read how steelhead has responded in this thread, then compare and
contrast to your attitude.

steelhead
2007-07-21, 18:34
Robin,

You wrote: Looks like it is a wireless networking issue.


Do you think it's with my ISP or our home network?

I'm wondering if the former as we have a wifi ISP and things were working OK before our ISP's service went down earlier in the week.

Thanks again to all for your troubleshooting; very helpful.

PS In the meantime, I think I'm going to look into connecting my SB directly to my computer.

pfarrell
2007-07-21, 18:41
steelhead wrote:
> Robin wrote:
>> Looks like it is a wireless networking issue.
>
> Do you think it's with my ISP or our home network?
> I'm wondering if the former as we have a wifi ISP.

I'm not Robin, but do you have a local repeater from your WiFi ISP?
Or does everything go out of your house to the ISP and back.
I've never heard of a setup like this, but I would expect problems
from such a thing

> PS In the meantime, I think I'm going to look into connecting my SB
> directly to my computer.

Great way to isolate problems.

WiFi as the "last leg" works fairly well, in most cases. This assume you
have something like:
1) PC with SlimServer hard wired to WiFi router
2) WiFi router talks to SqueezeBox.

It is fairly common for folks to have problems, especially with WAV,
AIFF or lossless WMA, if the setup looks like

A) PC with SlimServer WiFi to WiFi router
B) WiFi router talks to SqueezeBox.

This requires two hops for every data packet of sound, and it can stress
the network.


--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

steelhead
2007-07-21, 19:08
Thanks again, Pat.

you wrote: ...do you have a local repeater from your WiFi ISP?
Or does everything go out of your house to the ISP and back.
I've never heard of a setup like this, but I would expect problems
from such a thing

Not sure on this. We're in a rural New England. We receive our Wifi signal from towers via a dish.

> PS In the meantime, I think I'm going to look into connecting my SB
> directly to my computer.

Our set-up has been WiFi router talking to SB. Our system worked fine for 45 days, then our ISP went down and the problems started.


I just posted on connecting SB directly to Mac. I found some info in FAQs on connecting PC with SB, but not Mac.

Thanks much, Phil