PDA

View Full Version : SB3 turning on itself



Ramon
2007-07-19, 10:39
My SB3 is turning on itself at random times and starts playing the last playlist.

I've checked the settings for the alarm clock, but all are off.

Does anybody have an idea what happens here? I do have a mini-itx system with Clarkconnect as OS.

mherger
2007-07-19, 12:01
> Does anybody have an idea what happens here? I do have a mini-itx
> system with Clarkconnect as OS.

Do you have ports opened toward the internet (to access SlimServer from
eg. work)?

Michael

Siduhe
2007-07-19, 14:17
I think what Michael is getting at is...

http://www.wormulon.net/index.php?/archives/2005/12/03.html

search the comments for "googledork"...

Ramon
2007-07-20, 06:18
Thanks for the response.

Michael, you are right. I had some ports opened, but closed them when the issue was occuring. Still (this morning) the SB3 was turned on again...

there must be something else openend...

elziko
2007-07-23, 01:39
I also had this problem. The first time it happened I had no ports forwarded. Since then I have had ports open but that's so I could access the server but obviously I set up a good username/password before I did this.

I ended up RMA-ing my SB3 and I have been using a replacement for over a week now with no problems. I'll post back if it happens again but it does look like it was a problem with my SB3.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=35983

oreillymj
2007-07-23, 08:38
I posted about this issue months ago.

At the time, I did have ports open, but I've since closed them and added a Firewall rule which blocks internet access to Slim.exe

On Saturday @ ~10.30am, my SB3 began playing the selected playlist by itself.

Luckily the volume was pretty low, but I've had this happen in the middle of the night and while I was out of the house for a few days.

elziko
2007-09-03, 02:27
I also had this problem. The first time it happened I had no ports forwarded. Since then I have had ports open but that's so I could access the server but obviously I set up a good username/password before I did this.

I ended up RMA-ing my SB3 and I have been using a replacement for over a week now with no problems. I'll post back if it happens again but it does look like it was a problem with my SB3.

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=35983

It has started again. :(

Once last night (in the middle of the night) and once this morning at about 08:10.

Anyone else still having a problem with this? This time I have contacted the official support to see if they can help.

Ramon
2007-09-16, 13:31
I also still have the issue. Not as often as before, but it's still there...

I've upgraded to the latest version, but this didn't solve it. By now I've closed all ports, but it keeps coming back. Maybe it's triggered by the server or the router when doing upgrades etc?

If somebody knows a solution let me know.

Elziko, I always turn off my amplifier to avoid unexpected wake up calls ;-)