PDA

View Full Version : Problem after installing 6.5.3



WSLam
2007-07-18, 11:03
Problem after installing 6.5.3.

I will try to start SlimServer, and then it will quit starting. I looked at the Event Log, and I found this:

*************
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &main::init called at slimserver.pl line 32.
*************

I have reinstalled twice, same thing. Any idea?
XP SP2. Machine has nothing except for Slim Server.

ws

Anoop M.
2007-07-18, 13:09
Problem after installing 6.5.3.

I will try to start SlimServer, and then it will quit starting. I looked at the Event Log, and I found this:

*************
The description for Event ID ( 0 ) in Source ( Application ) cannot be found. The local computer may not have the necessary registry information or message DLL files to display messages from a remote computer. You may be able to use the /AUXSOURCE= flag to retrieve this description; see Help and Support for details. The following information is part of the event: Undefined subroutine &main::init called at slimserver.pl line 32.
*************

I have reinstalled twice, same thing. Any idea?
XP SP2. Machine has nothing except for Slim Server.

ws

Do you have antivirus or firewalls installed on your computer? Any other security software on your computer?

WSLam
2007-07-18, 17:25
std Windows Firewall, and Symantec Antivirus (Corp version). That's all. installed 6.5.2 and worked right away. I tried a clean install of 6.5.3, same error again.

Anoop M.
2007-07-18, 17:28
std Windows Firewall, and Symantec Antivirus (Corp version). That's all. installed 6.5.2 and worked right away. I tried a clean install of 6.5.3, same error again.

If you have the means of putting your Norton back on the computer I would suggest uninstalling it and seeing if that helps the scanner.

WSLam
2007-07-18, 18:22
Uninstalled Symantec, disabled Windows Firewall, clean install (uninstall 6.5.2, then install 6.5.3), reboot, same problem, same error.

The computer literally has nothing else installed.

Anoop M.
2007-07-18, 18:29
Uninstalled Symantec, disabled Windows Firewall, clean install (uninstall 6.5.2, then install 6.5.3), reboot, same problem, same error.

The computer literally has nothing else installed.

Send your eventlog to support AT slimdevices DOT com and they will take a look at your log and see what might be causing this.

WSLam
2007-07-18, 23:58
already did, no reply (yet)

bpa
2007-07-19, 01:15
If you run slimserver from a command prompt with the --d_startup and --d_server options you will get more info about startup and where it is stopping.

TheTurtle
2007-07-20, 11:27
Problem after installing 6.5.3.


I've the same situation and error as WSLam.

Here is my debug output :
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server>slim --d_statup --d_server
Unknown encoding: cp950 at /<C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe>Encode/
Guess.pm line 44.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /<C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.e
xe>Slim/Formats.pm line 15.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /<C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.e
xe>Slim/Music/Info.pm line 28.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at slimserver.pl line 113.
Undefined subroutine &main::main called at slimserver.pl line 58.

mherger
2007-07-20, 23:58
>> Problem after installing 6.5.3.
> I've the same situation and error.

WSLAM - living in Hong Kong, are you running a Chinese copy of Windows,
too?

Michael

Thierry
2007-07-21, 22:53
I have a similar problem after installing SlimServer 6.5.3 under Windows XP SP2. It is installed as a service and the firewall has grands SlimServer full access. The service starts, but then immediately stops without doing anything. The former versions of SlimServer(6.5.1 and 6.5.2) worked just fine.

WSLam
2007-07-22, 21:52
>> Problem after installing 6.5.3.
> I've the same situation and error.

WSLAM - living in Hong Kong, are you running a Chinese copy of Windows,
too?

Michael


Hi Michael,
Nope, all English OS here. US English.

ws

WSLam
2007-07-22, 21:52
I have a similar problem after installing SlimServer 6.5.3 under Windows XP SP2. It is installed as a service and the firewall has grands SlimServer full access. The service starts, but then immediately stops without doing anything. The former versions of SlimServer(6.5.1 and 6.5.2) worked just fine.

Have you downgrade back to 6.5.2?
Tech support insists me in providing a FULL application event log. Waste of time. I have given them the relevant portion...

WSLam
2007-07-22, 21:53
I've the same situation and error as WSLam.

Here is my debug output :
C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server>slim --d_statup --d_server
Unknown encoding: cp950 at /<C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.exe>Encode/
Guess.pm line 44.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /<C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.e
xe>Slim/Formats.pm line 15.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at /<C:\Program Files\SlimServer\server\slim.e
xe>Slim/Music/Info.pm line 28.
BEGIN failed--compilation aborted at slimserver.pl line 113.
Undefined subroutine &main::main called at slimserver.pl line 58.

Same thing! Glad to know I am not delusional being the only one with the problem!

I have since installed 6.5.3 on SSODS on a DS-207 and it seems to be working ok... but I still want to run SS on a computer...

Cronos
2007-07-22, 23:08
Tech support insists me in providing a FULL application event log. Waste of time. I have given them the relevant portion...

I'll never understand this attitude myself. You've contacted someone with a problem you can't solve, they've asked for details that may help them solve it, but you know better, and say you know what they need to solve it.

I understand some privacy concerns, but if you want help from them, isn't it best to provide as much as possible?

WSLam
2007-07-22, 23:10
I'll never understand this attitude myself. You've contacted someone with a problem you can't solve, they've asked for details that may help them solve it, but you know better, and say you know what they need to solve it.

I understand some privacy concerns, but if you want help from them, isn't it best to provide as much as possible?


I am indeed a mystery. No attempt requested to understand me. =)

I contacted them to inform them of a bug as, yes, I am certain it is a bug, and not my computer's issue. yes I am that sure.

I have provided all that is relevant. And from this thread, I am obviously not the only one.

Cronos
2007-07-22, 23:37
I am indeed a mystery. No attempt requested to understand me. =)

I contacted them to inform them of a bug as, yes, I am certain it is a bug, and not my computer's issue. yes I am that sure.

I have provided all that is relevant. And from this thread, I am obviously not the only one.

It may be a bug, it may be an incompatibility with one of millions of variables that the Windows family have become famous for. It may be some bizarre combination of hardware that causes one line of code to do something not intended, it may be a straight up bug. All that is relevent may not be immediately apparent. Providing the information that is asked for may save time in the end instead of support having to ask further questions of you. Waste of time you say, less guessing I would.

WSLam
2007-07-22, 23:38
Cronos, I am sure your intention is here to help.
Anyway, I will email tech support again later with what they ask of. I need to reinstall 6.5.3 on the machine first.

mherger
2007-07-22, 23:43
> Nope, all English OS here. US English.

Are you sure? :-)

Don't get me wrong, I just remember a guy in Hongkong who had bought a
Chinese system, but reconfigured everything to be English, and still
suffered from some side-effects due to the initial language setting.
Probably my question should rather be "has your system ever been running a
Chinese Windows?"

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

WSLam
2007-07-22, 23:46
Hi Michael,
I lived in the north america for half my life. I will basically be non functional if I use a non-english OS. and yes, it's a native english OS. I NEVER bought a computer with Chinese OS installed. I do not own a single copy of those. So yes, I am sure...

mherger
2007-07-23, 01:24
> I NEVER bought a computer with Chinese OS installed. I do not own a
> single copy of those. So yes, I am sure...

Ok, I'll have to trust you then :-).

Can you start slimserver interactively, from the command line, using
"slim.exe -d_startup"?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Thierry
2007-07-23, 04:45
Have you downgrade back to 6.5.2?
Tech support insists me in providing a FULL application event log. Waste of time. I have given them the relevant portion...

Yes, I have already downgraded back to 6.5.2 ... which works fine on my computer.

Have you noticed that the downloadable setup program for 6.5.3 is 5MB smaller than the similar program for 6.5.2. It seems that someone has cut some unnecessary files ... but would it be possible they've cut one file too many?

Thierry
2007-07-23, 05:20
Dear Michael,

To help the discussion a little, I have re-installed SlimServer 6.5.3 (which still does not run on my Windows XP computer). But this time I have recorded the -d_startup log. See the attached Slimserver 6.5.3 Log.zip file.

Frankly, I do not understand much about this jargon, but I would be very gratefull to you if you could have a brief look and share your thoughts about the issue.

Best regards,
Thierry


> I NEVER bought a computer with Chinese OS installed. I do not own a
> single copy of those. So yes, I am sure...

Ok, I'll have to trust you then :-).

Can you start slimserver interactively, from the command line, using
"slim.exe -d_startup"?

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mherger
2007-07-23, 05:47
Hi Tierry

Thanks for your logs. It again confirms that we're having a problem with
Chinese Windows system :-(.

> Frankly, I do not understand much about this jargon

You don't need to :-).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mherger
2007-07-23, 05:56
> Thanks for your logs. It again confirms that we're having a problem with
> Chinese Windows system :-(.

I've now opened a bug report for this issue:
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=5179

Please feel free to add any relevant information to it.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

Thierry
2007-07-23, 05:57
That is the good news, indeed.
Thank you for your support and the time you put into this.




> Frankly, I do not understand much about this jargon[/color]

You don't need to :-).

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

mherger
2007-07-27, 04:14
Please try the latest nightly build (http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.5/). Last night we've fixed a potential crasher. Thanks!

Michael

Chuckles
2007-07-27, 04:58
Please try the latest nightly build (http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.5/). Last night we've fixed a potential crasher. Thanks!

Michael

Your link doesn't work. I have been having the same problems and can't even find a log file (sorry - newbie). Where can I get the latest build?

Siduhe
2007-07-27, 05:13
Your link doesn't work. I have been having the same problems and can't even find a log file (sorry - newbie). Where can I get the latest build?

Delete the stray bracket from the end of the link.

http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.5/

TheTurtle
2007-07-27, 18:29
Thanks, now it works again.

SlimServer Version: 6.5.4 - 12431 - Windows XP - EN - cp950
Server IP address: 192.168.1.3
Perl Version: 5.8.8 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt

Thierry
2007-07-30, 06:55
Please try the latest nightly build (http://www.slimdevices.com/downloads/nightly/latest/6.5/). Last night we've fixed a potential crasher. Thanks!

Michael

Michael,

It is working fine now. Thank you,
T.