PDA

View Full Version : Considering Purchase

HalNineThousand
2007-07-16, 12:03
I'm considering buying either a Squeezebox or a Roku box and will eventually expand whatever system I get. I've asked these (or similar questions) on the Roku forums and I'd like to give people here a chance to answer the same questions. I'm new to this field and didn't know there were wireless music products until just a week or so ago when I found out about it on a forum for flac users.

My server runs on Linux (Debian Sarge, soon to upgrade to Etch). If I understand correctly, I can use Slimserver, which is even in the Debian repository. I understand I can use wifi or CAT5 cables (I've never gotten into wifi before, so that's an option, but I'm worried about security issues since my computer that handles everything for my business is on the net.)

So here are my questions, separated so they're easier to respond to one or two:

1) From what I've read, if I have 2 or more Squeezeboxes, I play the same music synced through both so they stay in sync so someone standing in the door between two rooms won't hear the same song playing differently on two devices. Is that right?

2) Are there other programs I can use other than Slimserver?

3) I've heard a few people say that Slimserver is a memory hog and bloated. Is there a problem if I run Slimserver on a LAN server that also handles print, file, dns, and other functions for a LAN?

4) How much control do I have with the remote? I don't care about making up play lists with the remote, but I'd like to be able to pick the album or playlist with the remote instead of having to set it at the computer.

5) Do people have any comments on Squeezebox vs. Roku boxes? (Without flame wars, please!)

I know that's a lot of questions. I didn't know, until a week or so ago, that there were products like this on the market. I've been reading up on them, but I just want to be sure they'll actually do what I would like before I start spending money on them.