PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver UI wont come up



Actuary
2007-07-05, 15:52
hello.

I have an SB3

While the music will still play from my pc via the SB3, I cannot OPEN SLIMSERVER. The web page comes up, says "done" but there is no UI.

This just suddenly quit working.
I don't use the SB3 everyday and had a few disconnect issues and upgraded the Norton software recently

I've updated the port rule noted in the wiki and that did nothing.

Please help me help myself. I'm too ignorant to really know what to ask or provide. There is almost too much info on here for someone who knows nothing and can't take 3 hours to research. :)



thanks!

Actuary
2007-07-05, 15:55
and I tried: http://127.0.0.1:9000/

it's already the default url when I try to OPEN SLIMSERVER

mherger
2007-07-05, 22:28
> I've updated the port rule noted in the wiki and that did nothing.

Just double check again. Port 9000 is important for the web interface. And
make sure you allow access from localhost or 127.0.0.1, too, not only for
the network interface's address.

Or try to connect to the machine's IP address instead of 127.0.0.1 - there
have been reports of machines where the localhost access was broken for
whatever reason. You can get the machines IP address by typing "ipconfig"
at the command prompt.

Michael

Actuary
2007-07-08, 19:32
> I've updated the port rule noted in the wiki and that did nothing.

Just double check again. Port 9000 is important for the web interface. And
make sure you allow access from localhost or 127.0.0.1, too, not only for
the network interface's address.

Or try to connect to the machine's IP address instead of 127.0.0.1 - there
have been reports of machines where the localhost access was broken for
whatever reason. You can get the machines IP address by typing "ipconfig"
at the command prompt.

Michael

Pretend I know nothing, I won't be insulted.

I have done this: http://slimdevices.custhelp.com/cgi-bin/slimdevices.cfg/php/enduser/std_adp.php?p_faqid=5988&p_created=1168547332&p_sid=_q8Wl7Gi&p_accessibility=0&p_lva=&p_sp=cF9zcmNoPTEmcF9zb3J0X2J5PSZwX2dyaWRzb3J0PSZwX 3Jvd19jbnQ9MzYmcF9wcm9kcz0wJnBfY2F0cz0mcF9wdj0mcF9 jdj0mcF9zZWFyY2hfdHlwZT1hbnN3ZXJzLnNlYXJjaF9ubCZwX 3BhZ2U9MSZwX3NlYXJjaF90ZXh0PWNvbmZpZ3VyZSBub3J0b24 gd2l0aCBzbGltc2VydmVy&p_li=&p_topview=1

Also, I have my IP Adress now.
I wasn't sure what you meant, but I typed it in to the web address window and it gave a standard cannot connect error. But I'm sure it's not what you meant, because I'm not actually tellnig SlimServber to find this address.

fwiw, the SlimServer software is on the same PC as the music is stored and the same one I'm trying to use the SlimServer Interface on.

It used to come up fine.

If I can't get it to work, is ther another way to get SlimServer to recognize new music I have saved? such as thru the SB3 remote control menu?


thank you for your help

Actuary
2007-07-08, 19:53
ok.
I just thought to look at the "Information" screen on the SB3 and noticed the Player Name is off by 1. The last 3 numbers are 100 but according to ipconfig, should be 101.

Is that relevant and if so, how do I change/fix it?

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-10, 14:29
I just thought to look at the "Information" screen on the SB3 and noticed the Player Name is off by 1. The last 3 numbers are 100 but according to ipconfig, should be 101.

Meaning that the player and server aren't at the same address? This is what's supposed to happen.

Can your player connect to SS? If so, what does the information screen say about the address of the server?

If you can connect to SS using your SB, then SS is running. You should be able to connect to it using 127.0.0.1:9000 but you can also try localhost:9000 or its IP address:9000.

ceejay
2007-07-11, 00:15
A couple of other thoughts ... slimserver is obviously running if you can play music from your PC with the SB ... [note - you are sure its from the PC, and you're not connected to SqueezeNetwork??]

So the problem is with the browser not being able to connect to slimserver. I gather your server IP address (as discovered with ipconfig) is something like 192.168.0.101, and the SB is similar but ...100

You've tried pointing the browser at http://localhost:9000 and http://192.168.0.101:9000 ?

Also try http://192.168.0.101:9000/default [this will force SS to use the default skin, in case you've accidentally switched it to something else].

Also try clearing the cache in the browser (what browser are you using?).

If none of this helps its back to looking at the Norton software, although that shouldn't interfere with access on a lcoal machine...

HTH
Ceejay

Actuary
2007-11-12, 00:42
A couple of other thoughts ... slimserver is obviously running if you can play music from your PC with the SB ... [note - you are sure its from the PC, and you're not connected to SqueezeNetwork??]

So the problem is with the browser not being able to connect to slimserver. I gather your server IP address (as discovered with ipconfig) is something like 192.168.0.101, and the SB is similar but ...100

You've tried pointing the browser at http://localhost:9000 and http://192.168.0.101:9000 ?

Also try http://192.168.0.101:9000/default [this will force SS to use the default skin, in case you've accidentally switched it to something else].

Also try clearing the cache in the browser (what browser are you using?).

If none of this helps its back to looking at the Norton software, although that shouldn't interfere with access on a lcoal machine...

HTH
Ceejay

The IP addres is 192.168.1.101 and 192.168.1.100
I tried all the ideas you listed. (with the above IP)
I have since removed Norton, didn't help.
Only Firewall I use is Windows XP, and I've put in the Exceptions for Ports 3483 and 9000.

In Tools: Internet Options: Security I've unchecked the "Automaticaly Detect Intranet Network", and checked the other three boxes.

It plays the music off the PC just fine.

Any more ideas?

thank you!

Actuary
2007-11-14, 09:14
after calling, it was suggested I re-install the software.

That worked!