PDA

View Full Version : FM/AM radio (from antenna)

koenie
2007-07-02, 11:33
I am new to digital music players and my wife wants to be able to listen to radio as well as music. There exist a few devices that can do this. Is this also possible with slimserver (or a plugin) to recieve your local FM/AM radio broadcast and stream them?

bpa
2007-07-02, 12:19
For PC Linux boxes with tuner cards such as Hauppuage WinTV with the FM tuner - you can use this plugin

http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=18904

I'm playing around with a Griffin Radio Shark with the intent of using it on a NAS - this will give AM/FM and the Radio Shark2 has optional external antenna.

peterw
2007-07-02, 12:55
I've been using a RadioShark (original version) on a Linux Slimserver system. I use the DarkIce software to feed the RadioShark output to an IceCast streaming server as a constant bitrate MP3 stream, and tune in to the stream URL provided by IceCast. I have not built anything to allow changing the station -- there's not that much desirable terrestrial radio near me. To listen, I press Favorites, arrow down to the "Radio" favorite, and press Play.

You might search the forums for RadioShark, and RadioTime, too (RadioTime caveats: http://forums.slimdevices.com/showthread.php?t=34909). RadioTime is a very nice idea, but I found it lacking mainly due to the local broadcasters' providing only very low quality (32k!) streams.

In addition to live streaming, having a tuner on your Slimserver host also allows you to record programs for later listening.

mflint
2007-07-03, 13:19