PDA

View Full Version : What can Squeezebox v3 do without a computer?



firefight
2007-06-28, 04:39
Hi all

I'm considering buying a Squeezebox, and was wondering how much functionality you have when the box is not connected to a Slimserver?

I will mostly be using it to listen to WMA net-radio, which I have read should be possible without a computer in the network. What else can it do stand-alone? Show RSS feeds? Tell me if I got mail?
Enlighten me :-)

Best regards, Lars Olsen

mherger
2007-06-28, 04:52
> I will mostly be using it to listen to WMA net-radio, which I have read
> should be possible without a computer in the network.

Correct. As well as MP3 and OGG. There are additional services such as
pandora.com or rhapsody.com which can be used without any local
installation (if you're in the USA :-/).

And if you want to listen to your very own music, get an account from
mp3tunes.com, upload your tunes and you're done without local server.

> Show RSS feeds?

This, too, is available through the SqueezeNetwork.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

firefight
2007-06-28, 05:14
Hi

Thanks for the quick reply :-) And thanks for the mp3tunes.com tip! Sounds too good to be true ;-)

How about plug-ins, with screensavers, VU-meters and such. Do they only work when Slimserver is running?

Best regards,
Lars Olsen
Denmark

mherger
2007-06-28, 05:26
> Thanks for the quick reply :-) And thanks for the mp3tunes.com tip!
> Sounds too good to be true ;-)

There are limitations compared to running a local server (no flac), but if
you don't want to keep your server running, it's a great offer.

> How about plug-ins, with screensavers, VU-meters and such. Do they only
> work when Slimserver is running?

Stock plugins will work, but no 3rd party extensions. VU-meter should be
available.

> Denmark

Today all the SqueezeNetwork is driven from a data center in California,
which can lead to some lag for us in Europe. The lag is no problem for the
playback, but at first a little irritating when interacting with the
remote control. But there are plans for a data center in Europe, which
should fix that issue.

--

Michael

-----------------------------------------------------------------
http://www.herger.net/SlimCD - your SlimServer on a CD
http://www.herger.net/slim - AlbumReview, Biography, MusicInfoSCR

menno
2007-07-01, 01:55
Is there a way to get the Squeezebox to automagically connect to the SqueezeNetwork if it cant find a SlimServer? Was looking for this option but couldnt see any way of doing this.

Cheers,
Menno

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-01, 08:09
If you are connected to SqueezeNetwork and power off (i.e. go to idle with the power button on the remote) you remain connected to SqueezeNetwork and will instantly resume on it when you press power again.

If you remove power (i.e. unplug) when you're on SqueezeNetwork, to reconnect you'll have to go through network setup again, but don't go through all the settings, simply scroll down until you get the "Connect to SqueezeNetwork" prompt.

menno
2007-07-02, 07:52
Hi Mark,

Sorry I should have given an example to explain what I meant.

What I would like is a way for me to setup a SqueezeBox so that if it cant find my local Slimserver that it will automatically connect to SqueezeNetwork instead.

Cheers,
Menno

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-02, 08:05
Unfortunately, that's not possible at the moment. You have to manually switch between one and the other.

aubuti
2007-07-02, 10:28
What I would like is a way for me to setup a SqueezeBox so that if it cant find my local Slimserver that it will automatically connect to SqueezeNetwork instead.
Vote for bug 3936 (you need to register first with bugs.slimdevices.com). It's really an enhancement request more than a bug, and no promises about when something might be done, but it doesn't cost anything to vote for it!
http://bugs.slimdevices.com/show_bug.cgi?id=3936

andyg
2007-07-02, 10:51
It's something we're considering for SS7. The big question is should it switch to SN (and back when SS is online) by default and possibly confuse the user? Or should this only be something you can enable if you know what you're doing?

menno
2007-07-04, 04:00
I guess it should be something that the user can enable if they know what they are doing.

Defaulting the behaviour could confuse. And someone may want to say do a wake-on-lan to their server first, and if that fails go to SqueezeNetwork, whilst another may want to go straight to SqueezeNetwork if there is no local running server.

Cheers,
Menno