PDA

View Full Version : No sound - New install on Windows XP with SlimServer Version: 6.5.2 - 12047



poldim
2007-06-25, 12:01
My desktop is running the following on Windows XP SP2 with all updates:

SlimServer Version: 6.5.2 - 12047 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252
Server IP address: 192.168.1.75
Perl Version: 5.8.8 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt

The firewall has been opened for 3483 TCP, 3483 UDP, and 9000 TCP and I set up the router to port forward to the desktop running static IP.

I can connect to the computer from my laptop from outside of my apartment with no problems and can navigate all of the pages, but no music is heard when I connect to the stream.

Initially I had some trouble getting lame installed, but then I found where it said it only needed the executable in the plugins folder.

I've also tried to tune into the stream from my desktop, and still result in no sound. It seems like its not actually playing the file although it says it is.

I've also tried to stream radio streams and it also fails to emit any sound.

sfraser
2007-06-25, 12:10
I assume you are using Softsqueeze? try reinstalling the softsqueeze software. The same thing happedned to me over the weekend.

poldim
2007-06-25, 12:40
I assume you are using Softsqueeze? try reinstalling the softsqueeze software. The same thing happedned to me over the weekend.


No, just trying to stream into windows media player, winamp, or itunes.





I had quicktime giving me problems, so I just uninstalled it and reinstalled the 7.1.6.

I put on a random song playlist and it randomly started to play on the 127.0.0.1 steam, but I could not hear it on the regular 9900 port from my laptop. Additionally, its not correctly show what song is being played (it was showing song 3 when song 1 was playing).


I've also noticed that it also restarts a new song every time I connect to the stream, even if I just momentarily disconnect and then connect back up.
I can post a temporary IP of the server if anyone wants to check it out and see whats wrong.

bpa
2007-06-25, 13:24
Have you made sure that slimserver and socketwrapper are "trusted" apps in the firewall to access the network.

What security s/w (firewall, Antivirus, etc.) have you installed ?

poldim
2007-06-25, 15:01
Have you made sure that slimserver and socketwrapper are "trusted" apps in the firewall to access the network.

What security s/w (firewall, Antivirus, etc.) have you installed ?

Symantec Antivirus 10.1.6.6000 Corporate Edition
Windows Firewall

I had slim.exe added, but just added socketwrapper. I'll let you know if anything changes.

poldim
2007-06-25, 19:09
Its still acting delayed and not showing the correct song that its playing.

I attached an excerpt from the log below.

bpa
2007-06-25, 23:55
In the log there are these error messages that look serious.


ERROR: Error executing 'INSERT INTO playlist_track (playlist, position, track) VALUES (?, ?, ?)': DBD::mysql::st execute failed: Cannot add or update a child row: a foreign key constraint fails (`slimserver/playlist_track`, CONSTRAINT `playlist_track_ibfk_1` FOREIGN KEY (`track`) REFERENCES `tracks` (`id`) ON DELETE CASCADE) at C:\Program Files\Audio\SlimServer\server\CPAN/DBIx/Class/Storage/DBI.pm line 771.


If the install is standard and no changes have been made by you related to mysql setting or the database, I think you should delete the database and rebuild it.

I usually delete all the cache files by stopping slimserver and deleting the "Cache" directory. Slimserver will rebuild everything when restarted.

poldim
2007-06-26, 01:56
In the log there are these error messages that look serious.


ERROR: Error executing 'INSERT INTO playlist_track (playlist, position, track) VALUES (?, ?, ?)': DBD::mysql::st execute failed: Cannot add or update a child row: a foreign key constraint fails (`slimserver/playlist_track`, CONSTRAINT `playlist_track_ibfk_1` FOREIGN KEY (`track`) REFERENCES `tracks` (`id`) ON DELETE CASCADE) at C:\Program Files\Audio\SlimServer\server\CPAN/DBIx/Class/Storage/DBI.pm line 771.


If the install is standard and no changes have been made by you related to mysql setting or the database, I think you should delete the database and rebuild it.

I usually delete all the cache files by stopping slimserver and deleting the "Cache" directory. Slimserver will rebuild everything when restarted.

Just deleted the folder and restarted, we'll see what happens.

Could this be caused by having mp3 files with Cyrillic encoding?

bpa
2007-06-26, 03:00
If you think the term "foreign" refers to the use of Cyrillic character - that is not the case. I'm pretty sure that "foreign" in this context is an SQL term.

That said, I am not familiar with the database issues or issues arising from using Cyrillic characters. I've seen other posts on Cyrillic/Chinese names/tags and there can be problems but I have not seen them with the database error logged.

poldim
2007-06-26, 05:08
These is the resulting log.
- Music still does not start playing without stopping and starting the stream.
- Browser still shows incorrect song that's actually playing.
- Stopping and starting makes it skip to the middle of another song down on the list.

*** Line 2 repeated 660 times ***


Warning: Migrating from 6.3.x used with MySQL!
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320 /////////// THIS LINE REPEATED 660 TIMES
192.168.1.75: Switching to mode stop from stop
Already in playmode stop : ignoring mode change
Adding song index 0 to song queue
Clearing out song queue first
Song queue is now 0
192.168.1.75: Switching to mode stop from stop
Already in playmode stop : ignoring mode change
jumping to
Adding song index 0 to song queue
Clearing out song queue first
Song queue is now 0
192.168.1.75: Switching to mode play from stop
openSong on: file:///D:/Music/!%20Full%20Albums/Artists/3%20Doors%20Down%20-%20Seventeen%20Days/01%20-%20Right%20Where%20I%20Belong.mp3
openSong: duration: [152.529] size: [4566439] endian [] offset: [8704] for file:///D:/Music/!%20Full%20Albums/Artists/3%20Doors%20Down%20-%20Seventeen%20Days/01%20-%20Right%20Where%20I%20Belong.mp3
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
undermax = 1, type = mp3, http = 192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-http-192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-http-*
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-*
Checking to see if mp3-mp3-*-* is enabled
enabled
Found command: -
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Matched Format: mp3 Type: mp3 Command: -
openSong: this is an mp3 file: file:///D:/Music/!%20Full%20Albums/Artists/3%20Doors%20Down%20-%20Seventeen%20Days/01%20-%20Right%20Where%20I%20Belong.mp3
file type: mp3 format: mp3 inrate: 239 maxRate: 320
command: -
openSong: opening file D:\Music\! Full Albums\Artists\3 Doors Down - Seventeen Days\01 - Right Where I Belong.mp3
openSong: seeking in 8704 into D:\Music\! Full Albums\Artists\3 Doors Down - Seventeen Days\01 - Right Where I Belong.mp3
MP3 file was encoded with LAME3.90.
MP3 file contains encoder delay information (576/2172), will be played gapless
openSong: Streaming with format: mp3
192.168.1.75 New play mode: play
192.168.1.75: Current playmode: play
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
We need to send 0 seconds of silence...
sending 0 bytes of silence
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Reduced chunksize to 11687 at end of file (4566439 - 4554752)
Reduced chunksize to 289 at end of file (4566439 - 4566150)
Read to end of file or pipe
end of file or error on socket, opening next song, (song pos: 4566150(tell says: . 4575271), totalbytes: 4566439)
opening next song...
the next song is number 1, was 0
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
undermax = 1, type = mp3, http = 192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-http-192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-http-*
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-*
Checking to see if mp3-mp3-*-* is enabled
enabled
Found command: -
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Matched Format: mp3 Type: mp3 Command: -
opening next song (old format: mp3, new: mp3) current playmode: play
Adding song index 1 to song queue
Clearing out song queue first
Song queue is now 1
openSong on: file:///D:/Music/!%20Full%20Albums/Artists/3%20Doors%20Down%20-%20Seventeen%20Days/02%20-%20It's%20Not%20Me.mp3
openSong: duration: [194.325] size: [5671948] endian [] offset: [8704] for file:///D:/Music/!%20Full%20Albums/Artists/3%20Doors%20Down%20-%20Seventeen%20Days/02%20-%20It's%20Not%20Me.mp3
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
undermax = 1, type = mp3, http = 192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-http-192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-192.168.1.75
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-http-*
checking formats for: mp3-mp3-*-*
Checking to see if mp3-mp3-*-* is enabled
enabled
Found command: -
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Matched Format: mp3 Type: mp3 Command: -
openSong: this is an mp3 file: file:///D:/Music/!%20Full%20Albums/Artists/3%20Doors%20Down%20-%20Seventeen%20Days/02%20-%20It's%20Not%20Me.mp3
file type: mp3 format: mp3 inrate: 233 maxRate: 320
command: -
openSong: opening file D:\Music\! Full Albums\Artists\3 Doors Down - Seventeen Days\02 - It's Not Me.mp3
openSong: seeking in 8704 into D:\Music\! Full Albums\Artists\3 Doors Down - Seventeen Days\02 - It's Not Me.mp3
MP3 file was encoded with LAME3.90.
MP3 file contains encoder delay information (576/1992), will be played gapless
openSong: Streaming with format: mp3
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320
Setting maxBitRate for Chimera to: 320



Is this possibly a Firefox or LAME issue?
---Firefox: 2.0.0.4
---Lame 3.97 from http://www.rarewares.org/mp3-lame-bundle.php

bpa
2007-06-26, 05:27
I think everything maybe working normally just there are problems with the player and how it uses the TCP connection.

1. The message is like a timestamp - when debugging it is output regularly.

2. To slimserver if there is no stream connected - it is like a player turned off - there is no point to play music if there is nothing to send it to.

3. Not sure about stop /start but when a stream stop is TCP connections is broken that would mean song is fully buffered and probably discarded on connection shutdown.

Use Winamp - pause will stop/resstart song playing with no loss whereas "stop" will stop the connection and halt playing.

poldim
2007-06-26, 05:30
I think everything maybe working normally just there are problems with the player and how it uses the TCP connection.

1. The message is like a timestamp - when debugging it is output regularly.

2. To slimserver if there is no stream connected - it is like a player turned off - there is no point to play music if there is nothing to send it to.

3. Not sure about stop /start but when a stream stop is TCP connections is broken that would mean song is fully buffered and probably discarded on connection shutdown.

Use Winamp - pause will stop/resstart song playing with no loss whereas "stop" will stop the connection and halt playing.


For 2, I just would expect that if I connect to the stream and then press play, it would start playing. If this inst the case, then its not a big deal.

The problem is still that I cannot play a song that I want. If I select song 1, songs 2-5 may play at will...

bpa
2007-06-26, 06:38
Describe what player you are using and how you are using it and how you are using the slimserver web interface ?

For example:
When you say you press "play" is this "Play" on the Slimserve web interface or "play" on the player interface ?

poldim
2007-06-26, 07:34
Windows Media Player
I open it, CTRL+U, type in the IP and it tunes in.
Then I open up slim server through Firefox.
When I select any music to play through the GUI, no music comes out. I have to press stop on WMP and then play in order to get any sound.

If I stop and start WMP steam then it just skips forward in tracks.

If I select next song on the GUI, it doesnt switch songs for several minutes, where it then switch to another song, not the one I selected.

bpa
2007-06-26, 14:42
Slimserver is designed to work with a Squeezebox - the stream.mp3 is a side benefit and as such its functionality is limited. If you want a fully functional PC player use SoftSqueeze.

To understand your "problems" you need to understand how the stream.mp3 works with WMP. Stream.mp3 is like an internet radio stream - when you connect it will stream the files on the playlist. Pause without breaking the TCP conneciton and it will not lose data. Break the TCP connection and data which has been sent by Slimserver to the player and buffered by the player will be lost.

When connected, Slimserver will send as much data (i.e music) to the player as the player (e.g. WMP) will allow. If the player has a large buffer then Slimserver may send a number of songs which will be buffered by the player (WMP) until it is ready to actually send them to the speakers..

Now to some possible explanations.

When I select any music to play through the GUI, no music comes out. I have to press stop on WMP and then play in order to get any sound.
I don't know specifics but it is possible that WMP doesn't keep the TCP connection open unless there is data being sent. So you have to press stop & start to re-open the TCP connection.


If I stop and start WMP steam then it just skips forward in tracks.
When you press "stop" you are breaking the TCP connection between WMP and Slimserver. There will be music (possibly a number of tracks) in the WMP buffer which Slimserver has sent and therefore Slimserver thinks the tracks have been played. It looks like the music in the WMP buffer is discarded and then Slimserver will resume from the next track that Slimserver has not sent to WMP. Use Pause instead of Stop.


If I select next song on the GUI, it doesnt switch songs for several minutes, where it then switch to another song, not the one I selected.
This is due to a number of tracks being buffered by WMP - as far as Slimserver is concerned it will take action immediately but WMP will have to play all the tracks buffered inside WMP before you will hear the song just selected on the GUI.

poldim
2007-06-26, 18:43
Slimserver is designed to work with a Squeezebox - the stream.mp3 is a side benefit and as such its functionality is limited. If you want a fully functional PC player use SoftSqueeze.

To understand your "problems" you need to understand how the stream.mp3 works with WMP. Stream.mp3 is like an internet radio stream - when you connect it will stream the files on the playlist. Pause without breaking the TCP conneciton and it will not lose data. Break the TCP connection and data which has been sent by Slimserver to the player and buffered by the player will be lost.

When connected, Slimserver will send as much data (i.e music) to the player as the player (e.g. WMP) will allow. If the player has a large buffer then Slimserver may send a number of songs which will be buffered by the player (WMP) until it is ready to actually send them to the speakers..

Now to some possible explanations.

I don't know specifics but it is possible that WMP doesn't keep the TCP connection open unless there is data being sent. So you have to press stop & start to re-open the TCP connection.


When you press "stop" you are breaking the TCP connection between WMP and Slimserver. There will be music (possibly a number of tracks) in the WMP buffer which Slimserver has sent and therefore Slimserver thinks the tracks have been played. It looks like the music in the WMP buffer is discarded and then Slimserver will resume from the next track that Slimserver has not sent to WMP. Use Pause instead of Stop.


This is due to a number of tracks being buffered by WMP - as far as Slimserver is concerned it will take action immediately but WMP will have to play all the tracks buffered inside WMP before you will hear the song just selected on the GUI.

Thanks for the explanations.

Are you aware of any ways to lower this buffer?
I would like to improve the functionality and use of the stream because I would like to stream to other people's computers, some of which would not want unnecessary software installed (understandable).

Request has a module which allows you to basically do the same thing as slim server except it works with its own storage hardware. I've had a chance to use it and it has some nice features in its java web GUI that similarly streams music over the net. Not sure if you are aware of them...

bpa
2007-06-27, 00:08
The buffering is controlled by the player and to some extent the value of network interface interface RWIN parameter. Look in a windows forum for better info as I don't use WMP.

I can't see the big difference between Slimserver and the "Request" (I don't know what this is) product. Both require hardware purchase to get benefit and both have Java GUI to help play the stream. What is wrong with your users running the Softsqueeze applet ?

If you want complete control of your broadcast and users will not be using Slimserver GUI then you should use something like Icecast.