PDA

View Full Version : What is wrong with Slim Server?

gdg
2007-06-23, 23:18
I've been using a SB2 and Slimserver for 2 years without problem. A while back I uploaded the latest edition of Slimserver and things started to go wrong. First of all the quick launch icon won't work. I have to use the Task Manager icon and open it through the popup menu. The Zapped function no longer works. I get prompted to put the song in either "bad music", "bad tags" or "morning alarm", none of which work (and no, I haven't loaded any plugins). The "date and time" screen saver I set all of a sudden is showing the full "spectrum analyzer" at the same time. This is really annoying.
What gives??????????????????????????????????????????

erland
2007-06-23, 23:42
The Zapped function no longer works. I get prompted to put the song in either "bad music", "bad tags" or "morning alarm", none of which work (and no, I haven't loaded any plugins). As I said in the previous thread, this is related to the Playlist Manager plugin. You obviously had that installed since you found a checkbox for it in "Server Settings/Plugins". The change in behaviour regarding this could be that you had installed the plugin in your previous SlimServer, but it didn't work because the plugin version wasn't compatible with that SlimServer. Now when you upgraded SlimServer the plugin suddenly started to work since it's compatible with the new version.

I think the fastest way to get back to the default behaviour would be to uninstall SlimServer completely and then reinstall it again. It is a good idea that you take a backup of your current SlimServer installation directory before you uninstall, this will make it easier to get back to the current installation if the reinstall doesn't work. When you uninstall, make sure there aren't any files left in the SlimServer installation directory before you install it again.

Mark Lanctot
2007-06-24, 08:09