PDA

View Full Version : Question about convert.conf



TCM
2007-06-20, 13:43
In convert.conf you'll find the following lines (at least in v6.5.2, lines 153-155)


# special case for smart bitrates on mp3 input
mp3 mp3 transcode *
[lame] --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ --abr $BITRATE$ $FILE$ -

Could anybody me tell what that does?

kdf
2007-06-20, 15:46
Quoting TCM <TCM.2shuoz1182372301 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com>:

> Code:
> --------------------
> # special case for smart bitrates on mp3 input
> mp3 mp3 transcode *
> [lame] --resample 44100 --silent -q $QUALITY$ --abr $BITRATE$ $FILE$ -
> --------------------
>
>
> Could anybody me tell what that does?

mp3 to mp3 transcoding, for cases where bitrate limiting is set and
the file needs to be converted to use the lesser bandwidth.
-kdf

tyler_durden
2007-06-20, 20:44
Convert.conf doesn't do anything. I edited a copy of it and saved it and it had no effect. I then saved another copy as custom_convert.conf which also did nothing despite what it says in the file. Conversion choices in the slimserver settings page are saved to the slimserver.pref file.

I have not figured out why the convert.conf file exists.

TD

snarlydwarf
2007-06-20, 20:59
You need to shutdown slimserver to have it reload, but it sure does something on my system, and it does on other people's as well... I don't have conversion commands in my .pref....

kdf
2007-06-20, 21:03
On 20-Jun-07, at 8:44 PM, tyler_durden wrote:
>
> I have not figured out why the convert.conf file exists.
>
it controls how the file types settings work and what commands are used
for transcoding.
if you edit it, you still need to restart the server for it to have an
effect.

I can assure you it works, as I have edits that are required for making
my setup work at home.
-kdf

tyler_durden
2007-06-20, 23:52
I'll try it. Thx!

TD