PDA

View Full Version : Windows Home Server add-in?

groovyf
2007-06-20, 02:38
Tried searching, but seems it's broken...

Any plans for a SlimServer Add-In to the Windows Home Server Console? I've tried and tested a SlimServer on a Beta of WHS and found it installed and worked just fine. Then imagined how a nice front end that hooked into the WHS Console would be a great addition.

As WHS is a designed to be out of the way with no kb/mouse/monitor attached it's the ideal box for a SlimServer installation.

Maybe a 3rd party add-in might appear if not an official one.

slimpy
2007-06-20, 04:36
You can control slimserver from any computer in the network using the built-in web interface.
What would be the benefit of having an extension to the home server console?

-s.

byKnight
2007-06-20, 04:41
I've been running SlimServer on WHS for a few months now. I haven't once thought having access to SlimServer via the Remote Console was something I needed. I can already do anything I want with SlimServer from any PC on my network without invoking Remote Console. All I need is a browser.

JJZolx
2007-06-20, 08:52
I've been running SlimServer on WHS for a few months now. I haven't once thought having access to SlimServer via the Remote Console was something I needed. I can already do anything I want with SlimServer from any PC on my network without invoking Remote Console. All I need is a browser.
What about things like restarting SlimServer? How is that accomplished?

aw4
2007-12-06, 09:05
I just cannot install slim server on the HP Mediasmart sever. It will not let me execute the install file.

Any chance of a Slim server add-in for Mediasmart?

aubuti
2007-12-06, 09:15
I just cannot install slim server on the HP Mediasmart sever. It will not let me execute the install file.

Any chance of a Slim server add-in for Mediasmart?