PDA

View Full Version : Cannot stream remotely



mschiff
2007-06-19, 06:33
I have set up my server so that it is accessible on the web. I have opened port 9000 and 3483 in my router and verified that they are open. I can bring up the Slimserver web interface on my server from my remote site with no problem, however, I can't stream any music either with Softsqueeze or MediaMonkey. When I try with MediaMonkey to connect to my server via:

http://myserveraddress:9000/stream.mp3, I see the IP address of my remote system appearing in the Slimserver interface, but it won't play anything. The play button is non-functional. I can create a playlist of songs, but the current pointer always goes to the last song, and nothing plays.

In Softsqueeze, it says "Please wait. Connecting to Slim Server", but nothing ever happens. If I do these things locally on my network at home, everything works beautifully, even if I use the outside address.

Any suggestions?

-- Martin

Mark Lanctot
2007-06-19, 07:29
For the remote software player, go to Player Settings - Audio - Bitrate Limiting. The paragraph should indicate if LAME is properly installed. Also go to Server Settings - File Types - File Format Conversion Setup. You should check the MP3 conversion of every format you have (keep the native formats checked though or else your local players will get transcoded MP3 too.)

I'm not sure why SoftSqueeze wouldn't be working though. Do you have any evidence to show your ISP or your employer might be using bandwidth shaping tools?

mschiff
2007-06-19, 12:17
Mark,

I do not have Lame installed on the server, because all of my files are FLAC files, and I stream FLAC directly to my Squeezeboxes. Will the server not stream FLAC files remotely? I was using MediaMonkey which can play FLAC files directly.

I will add Lame to the server when I get home today and see if that helps.

I am the network administrator at work, so there is nothing going on there with bandwidth shaping. We have a T1, so there is no ISP involved here at work. I have Road Runner at the other end.

Thanks for your help.

-- Martin

Mark Lanctot
2007-06-19, 12:24
I do not have Lame installed on the server, because all of my files are FLAC files, and I stream FLAC directly to my Squeezeboxes. Will the server not stream FLAC files remotely? I was using MediaMonkey which can play FLAC files directly.

Yes, that's a problem - stream.mp3 will only play back MP3 streams. If you don't have LAME on the server it has no way to transcode.

SlimServer does not support FLAC streaming to any software client but SoftSqueeze - however, most people don't have the bandwidth for it anyway (you'd need 1500-2000 kbps upload at the server at all times).

This doesn't explain why SoftSqueeze won't work because that does support FLAC streaming if your bandwidth will allow it, but baby steps first.

chris.mason
2007-06-19, 12:40
Also, as you are only streaming MP3, you don't need port 3483 open - thats used by Softsqueeze and Squeezebox.

Can I make a suggestion? Irrationally, (or not), hearing that you have got ports 9000 and 3483 open to the world gives me shivers...
What about using OpenSSH and forwarding those ports? As a network admin, its possibly something you've come across before anyway.

Have a search on the forums - quite a few posts on how to do it.

I successfully stream my music (and radio stations, including Last.fm) from home to office over SSH. I connect using both WinAmp and Softsqueeze. I can't stream FLAC though - just don't have the bandwidth, and I don't think my employers would be too pleased either. I've succesfully streamed music from my PC in the UK to an office in Colorado, USA before.

As for why SoftSqueeze won't play any FLAC files at all, that sounds like a file format issue - in the slim web interface, go to Settings -> File Types. Check that the FLAC to FLAC format is checked (it should be, otherwise your Squeezebox probably wouldn't work).

Hope that helps.

mschiff
2007-06-19, 13:26
Thanks guys, that explains part of my issue.

I will be using SSH once I have this working. Just wanted to take baby steps at first. I've never set up SSH, any pointers?

Softsqueeze not only will not play any files, but it will not even connect completely. It's MediaMonkey that connects and will not play (due to Lame not being installed, I hope).

-- Martin

chris.mason
2007-06-19, 13:41
Could the Softsqueeze issue be firewall related? I mean the firewall at where ever you are trying to connect from?

If you can get SSH set up, and get it working, that won't be an issue anyway.

As for SSH setup, if you're on Windows, try using OpenSSH on Cygwin. Straight forward to setup, and works very well. Gives you a nice bash shell when logging into your windows PC (if you want it).

Cygwin:
http://www.cygwin.com/

How to setup ssh on cygwin:
http://pigtail.net/LRP/printsrv/cygwin-sshd.htm

Enjoy!

robertlewisca
2007-06-19, 16:39
I've not setup SSH, but I did just go through setting up vpn access through Hamachi. VERY easy, even for a non-tech guy like me. Search for 'Hamachi' on the forums and you should find some good information.

geoffb
2007-06-20, 05:29
On 6/19/07, mschiff wrote:
> I will be using SSH once I have this working. Just wanted to take baby
> steps at first. I've never set up SSH, any pointers?

I found it easier to set up SSH first, since one pipeline takes care
of all the ports - you don't have to worry about ISPs filtering
anything, and you only have one port to open in each firewall.
As Chris mentioned, OpenSSH is pretty good. Tunnelier is a great
client to use at the remote end - easy to set up, and good logging for
when things go wrong (and free):
http://www.bitvise.com/tunnelier

Cheers,
Geoff

4mula1
2007-06-20, 05:45
The only thing about Hamachi is that you are using their servers as a go-between, and when they go down, you're SOL. A definite point to consider.

I've setup OpenSSH on Windows and found it to be very convenient to have remote access to not only my music but also my files.

geoffb
2007-06-20, 06:04
On 6/19/07, mschiff wrote:
> I will be using SSH once I have this working. Just wanted to take baby
> steps at first. I've never set up SSH, any pointers?

One more thing: if you do go the SSH route, you might want to change
your default port, it'll help avoid people pounding on it all day
(although this may not bother you). In a default OpenSSH
installation, its in C:\Program Files\OpenSSH\etc\sshd_config.

Another point about using Tunellier: it gives you a nice, automated
way to get a remote desktop back to the server (assuming you're
running Windows), which I use a lot to do things like restart
SlimServer if it crashes, fix tags if I see them broken, etc.
And of course, like any SSH client, lets you point both SoftSqueeze
and your web browser at 127.0.0.1.

Cheers,
Geoff

mschiff
2007-06-20, 07:02
Thanks everyone for all the help. I closed all my ports and am using Hamachi right now, and listening to my Slimserver with MediaMonkey. I still can't seem to get Softsqueeze to work, but that's kind of moot now as this works very well streaming at 320Kbps.

I understand the point about Hamachi being a weak point. If I really want to avoid that and have myself totally covered, I can install a hardware VPN between my sites. I already have that set up to other remote locations, and already have the hardware to do it.

mschiff
2007-06-20, 07:20
I just uninstalled and reinstalled Softsqueeze, and finally figured out the way to hold my lips just right when I started it, and it now works [grin]. Just needed to get the server name correct with the Hamachi VPN.

So life is good, and I'm listening to my music.

Thanks to all.

-- Martin