PDA

View Full Version : SB3 Wireless Connection Problem with Linksys WRT54G Router



jrobbins
2007-06-18, 20:55
Hello. I successfully used the SB3 for about a year with a Linksys WRT54G v5 wireless router in DHCP mode, with one annoying exception: the SB3 would lockup (i.e., refuse to connect wireless) pretty much once a day until I physically disconnected the power from the router. Then, the SB3 would wirelessly re-connect with no problem.

Thinking this was a router problem, I purchased a newer version of the WRT54G, the version 8. Now, I can't get a DHCP IP address, and everytime I attempt to set a static IP, the SB3 reassigns with an invalid 169. IP address.

MAC address is still correct in the current settings.

So, I either need help in fixing the original problem (I still have the v5 router here) or the new one. Thanks. JCR

lamma
2007-06-18, 21:17
I am using linksys WRT54G router as well, but my version is 2.0
I have ugrade to Firmware Version : v4.70.8, Hyperwrt 2.1b1 + Thibor14, and I have no problem at all.
I am not sure the firemware is suitable to Version 5 or not.
I guess you can do a study on these link:
http://www.hyperwrt.org/
Hyperwrt got its own web interface and offer more function the original doesn't.
Hope this help.
Lamma

jrobbins
2007-06-18, 21:35
Thanks for the quick reply. The hyperwrt doesn't appear to support v5, let alone v8. So, I'm not sure whether to try it.

lamma
2007-06-18, 21:43
What about try dd-wrt ?
Take a look on:
http://www.dd-wrt.com/

I have another WRT54GL using dd-wrt with very good performance.
I also not sure dd-wrt suppport version 5 or not.
You may need to study for it if feel interest.

Lamma

jrobbins
2007-06-18, 22:56
I see that DDWRT doesn't support the WRT54G v7 because of the chipset. I therefore assume it won't support v8 either.

I'm no expert on flashing firmware with aftermarket products, so this probably isn't the best solution for me, even were it to support my new router.

Millwood
2007-06-21, 17:17
Just to remind you of the Linksys situation.

The initial linksys routers used linux as the underlying OS. They eventually realized that the GPL required them to provide the source. The result was the availability of third party firmware.

Recently, Linksys replaced linux with a proprietary embedded OS. They managed to reduce the memory requirements and save some money in the bargain. But in response to customer complaints, they decided to continue the L series, which has extra memory, the Linux based firmware, and costs a bit more.