PDA

View Full Version : Network over electrical wiring



Kyle
2007-06-18, 17:42
What are the devices that allow you to connect to your network over your home's electrical wiring?

seanadams
2007-06-18, 17:46
You want powerline ethernet:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=powerline+ethernet&btnG=Search

AKA homeplug:

http://www.google.com/search?hl=en&safe=off&q=homeplug&btnG=Search

Kyle
2007-06-18, 18:00
Thanks. Just ordered a pair.

SuperQ
2007-06-18, 22:44
Homeplug would be a cool additional connectivity option for the squeezebox. I use wifi to my SB2 in the garage.. but it would be sweet to be able to just plug it in.. That would require moving the PSU into the device.. maybe not a bad idea anyway.

Kyle
2007-06-19, 10:46
Homeplug would be a cool additional connectivity option for the squeezebox. I use wifi to my SB2 in the garage.. but it would be sweet to be able to just plug it in.. That would require moving the PSU into the device.. maybe not a bad idea anyway.

??? I don't understand what you're saying. Your SB2 PSU should not be affected. You plug the Homeplug into the wall and connect it to the SB2 with a networking cable.

katabasis
2007-06-19, 11:36
i bought apair of devolo dlan 200 to explore this and got not good results, the sound in the squeezebox had a very noticeable electrical background noise, easily identifiable with the leds monitoring activity in the devolo device, so i forgot this approach.

Some reviews says this devolo dlan is better than most other similar products in this question (i mean, electrical backgroud noise), and actually it has great features (QoS, etc) but that noise level is unacceptable for me, and i will not spend 200 eur for every device i want to test.
I will get the wifi approach or use DeCorp cat6 flat cable (or similar).

Just my 2 cents.

geoffb
2007-06-19, 11:40
On 6/19/07, Kyle wrote:
>
> SuperQ;209718 Wrote:
> > Homeplug would be a cool additional connectivity option for the
> > squeezebox. I use wifi to my SB2 in the garage.. but it would be sweet
> > to be able to just plug it in.. That would require moving the PSU into
> > the device.. maybe not a bad idea anyway.
>
> ??? I don't understand what you're saying. Your SB2 PSU should not be
> affected. You plug the Homeplug into the wall and connect it to the
> SB2 with a networking cable.

I think SuperQ is referring to building a Homeplug receiver into the
SB PSU, and the PSU into the SB, so that you don't need either an
ethernet cable or a wifi connection (you'd just plug the SB into a
regular power socket).
You'd still need the homeplug at the server end to send the signal,
but you'd save on one homeplug device (and probably pay for it in
extra SB cost, not to mention whatever interference issues would crop
up - something I know nothing about).
Cheers,
Geoff

Kyle
2007-06-19, 18:18
Gotcha. Thanks.

RobHall
2007-06-20, 09:06
I've had very good results with powerline adapters. However I do know that you can buy another powerline device to "clean up" interference in your electricity cabling.

I use powerline adapters to connect the media server to the wireless router.

lyteroptes
2007-06-21, 04:32
I use homeplugs for this too - the server is in the garage - it it works well but I've also tried connecting the SB3 via a homeplug too and it just didn't work properly at all.