PDA

View Full Version : Clock is gone once SlimServer Stop



lamma
2007-06-14, 21:36
Did anyone experience that the Dat/Clock display disappear when the SlimServer stop ?
This won't be happen before until recently, I suspect it is because firmware update ...

PS: I am 100% sure my screen saving setting is correct.

Lamma

myrrh
2007-06-14, 22:47
I've noticed since 6.5.2 that if you have RSS news reader to display when Squeezebox is idle, sometimes it fails to get the RSS feed and will just be blank.

ceejay
2007-06-14, 22:58
Did anyone experience that the Dat/Clock display disappear when the SlimServer stop ?
This won't be happen before until recently, I suspect it is because firmware update ...

PS: I am 100% sure my screen saving setting is correct.

Lamma

Your SB has no idea of what the date and time is, it can only get it from a Slimserver. If your own local slimserver is stopped, the only way your SB can display date/time is by connecting to SqueeezeNetwork.

I suspect the thing that has changed for you is that you are connecting more to your local slimserver and less to SqueezeNetwork?

Ceejay

mherger
2007-06-14, 23:48
> PS: I am 100% sure my screen saving setting is correct.

Brightness? Just hit the Brightness button on the remote to be 101% sure.

Michael

relen
2007-07-14, 05:19
Hmmm. I do not think it's as simple as that.

I have an SB2 and an SB3. Both are set to display time and date when "off" so I can use them as clocks. A while ago I suddenly noticed that the SB3 was blank. It plays normally, but when switched "off" it will not display anything, whatever you select it to display when off.

In normal play the brightness behaves fine - in fact the entire unit behaves correctly, except for not displaying anything when switched off.

I initially thought it was a hardware failure, but I now tend to agree that it must be a firmware or server update that caused it.

Meanwhile the SB2 is behaving 100% normally. Odd.

Comments?

--Richard E

SlimServer Version: 6.5.3 - 12301 - RedHat fc6 - EN - utf8
Perl Version: 5.8.8 i386-linux-thread-multi
MySQL Version: 5.0.21-standard

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-14, 07:07
What is the brightness set to when off? It's a separate state than playing or idle, it may have been reset to 0. Press the brightness button.

relen
2007-07-14, 07:24
It doesn't make any difference. Sorry, I meant to say that.

--R

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-14, 07:30
You sure the remote is working? Have you tried it from Player Settings - Display?

Obelus
2007-07-14, 09:31
I have been experiencing the same issue for some time now--the time screen saver no longer remains visible once I stop using my squeezebox 3. My settings are also correct and I am using the device wirelessly. On the other hand, I haven't done anything to troubleshoot the issue ...

-Obelus

relen
2007-07-14, 09:47
Yes, the remote is fine. As I noted previously, "In normal play the brightness behaves fine - in fact the entire unit behaves correctly, except for not displaying anything when switched off."

Resetting to factory settings has not changed it either.

relen
2007-07-14, 09:47
Could there be a setting which has become corrupted and isn't reset by factory restore?

kdf
2007-07-14, 09:55
I have similar settings for one of my SB3's and I'm seeing the date and
time, so it wouldn't seem to be something systemic. However, one
thing you can try is to shut down the server and use the command
prompt:

c:\program files\slimserver\server\slim.exe --d_plugins

that should show a message if there is anything going wrong with the
screensaver.

Factory reset will only reset the player itself, not the preferences
for the server. If you want to try clearing those, stop the server,
find the slimserver.pref file and move it somewhere else then restart
the server and you'll get the default prefs again.

-kdf

Mark Lanctot
2007-07-14, 09:59
In normal play the brightness behaves fine

Off is a different mode and has a different brightness setting.

It does sound like the server prefs has somehow become confused?

relen
2007-07-14, 12:43
OK, deleting the prefs file fixed it. It didn't do anything immediately, BUT then pressing Brightness when the unit was off brought back the display, which was not the case before.

This is thus fixed, but I do not know exactly why!

Thanks for the suggestion!
--Richard E

kdf
2007-07-14, 13:08
On 14-Jul-07, at 12:43 PM, relen wrote:

>
> OK, deleting the prefs file fixed it. It didn't do anything
> immediately,
> BUT then pressing Brightness when the unit was off brought back the
> display, which was not the case before.
>
> This is thus fixed, but I do not know exactly why!
>
if you kept the old prefs file, take a look at the various brightness
settings to compare with your new one.
remember, there are four prefs involved:

powerOffBrightness (when in 'off' mode)
powerOnBrightness (when on and recently active)
autobrightness (automatic change for idle time, or only manual
change)
idleBrightness (when left alone for a while)

-kdf