PDA

View Full Version : Audiophile wishlist

gian
2007-06-11, 06:27
Hello All,

I post here (and not in the Audiophile section), because I think it's a general issue.

I know that there are many mods to improve the SB's sound.
On my part I have no knowledge/time to do it myself, and I am not really willing to let my SBs be teared up by other hands than Slimdevices'.

So, why not prepare a *premium* version of the SB, incorporating all mods and priced half way to the Transporter?

I admit I won't go for the Transporter because I love *sooo much* the SB looks, but I would be interested to improve the sound.

I wonder if I'm alone here...

cheers,
-GianLuca

SuperQ
2007-06-11, 11:34
I wonder if I'm alone here...

cheers,
-GianLuca

Buy better speakers?

mlsstl
2007-06-11, 11:59
I just bought an external DAC. There are many in the $250 to $1000 range - new and used - that represent an improvement over the built-in DAC. The power supply replacement is also very easy (though I'll confess I found it made no difference for me.)

I actually did the trial run with with Transporter and returned it. For me, the SB3 with an external DAC (Lavry DA10) sounded the same for a little over half the cost. (Also, like you, I preferred the size and styling of the SB3. The Transporter was just a bit too big and "too much" for my tastes.)

I'm sure the people at Slim Devices have examined the possibility of a mid-point Squeezebox very carefully. Like any additional product in a line it'd have disadvantages for them along with advantages. (Disadvantages like siphoning off sales that would have otherwise been a Transporter, extra inventory to manage that might not result in a cost effective increase in sales, etc.)