PDA

View Full Version : Slimserver, dual core?



badbob
2007-05-26, 05:39
Does Slimserver support dual core? I've just upgraded HTPC/Media Server to 4200X2. just noticed this in web page of slimserver.

SlimServer Version: 6.5.2 - 12047 - Windows XP - EN - cp1252
Server IP address: xxxxxxxxxx
Perl Version: 5.8.8 MSWin32-x86-multi-thread
MySQL Version: 5.0.22-community-nt

andyg
2007-05-26, 05:53
No, SlimServer is a single-threaded process. When scanning, it might use the second core, since scanning is a separate process. Also, any transcoding can use the other core.

Skunk
2007-05-26, 06:37
No, SlimServer is a single-threaded process. When scanning, it might use the second core, since scanning is a separate process. Also, any transcoding can use the other core.

Mine seems to use both cores all the time. I am sending FLAC>FLAC here, hitting the skip button repeatedly. Skipping taxes one processor more if slimserver's affinity is set to core zero, rather than one and zero both- so how can it not be using both cores?

andyg
2007-05-26, 06:43
The CPU may be moving the process between cores, but it won't ever run on both cores at the same time.

Skunk
2007-05-26, 07:18
Thanks Andy, it all makes sense now.