PDA

View Full Version : A Couple Newbie Questions

Videodrome
2007-05-25, 06:44
Hello everyone! This is my first post. I just got my Squeezebox about 2 weeks ago and I love it!

As background, I am using EAC with AccurateRip and FLAC for compression. For the moment, the CDs are being saved to my hard drive, but I plan on purchasing an external USB harddrive for music storage. The Squeezebox is currently streaming digital to an external DAC which then goes analog out to my pre /pro.

After working out a couple bugs with my EAC configuratrion, things are going pretty well. However, I am still struggling with a couple newbie issues I thought you may be able to help me with. Forgive me if my questions and assumptions appear stupid, as I'm still learning my way around FLAC, EAC, ripping, etc:

First, my CD drive is running painfully slow. Either I have set FLAC to a very high level of compression and/or my internal CD drive just ain't cutting it. It takes 15-20 minutes to rip a CD. One took about 90 minutes, and I noticed the message "cooling down drive" appeared on the status screen during various stages of the ripping process. I've only ripped about a dozen CDs on a fairly new computer, so I doubt I could have burned up the drive that quickly. Would an external CD drive be more robust / faster, or is something set up wrong here?

Second, can someone point me to the steps for ripping double CD sets? I recall seeing a link somewhere, but cannot seem to find it.

Third, I'm at a loss as to how to set the "Various Artists" thingy on EAC. Looks like people's setting are all over the place and I can't discern why one is preferable to another.

Thanks in advance!

- VD

Mark Lanctot
2007-05-25, 07:05
First of all, welcome to the forum!

First, my CD drive is running painfully slow. Either I have set FLAC to a very high level of compression and/or my internal CD drive just ain't cutting it. It takes 15-20 minutes to rip a CD.