PDA

View Full Version : Want to use laptop as a fancy remote control



Zten
2007-05-20, 18:42
I have all my music stored on my home desktop computer. I have an old laptop that really is not good for much, but I would like to use it as a fancy remote control. How do I do that? Both the laptop and my Squeezebox are on my home wireless network.

JJZolx
2007-05-20, 19:00
I have all my music stored on my home desktop computer. I have an old laptop that really is not good for much, but I would like to use it as a fancy remote control. How do I do that? Both the laptop and my Squeezebox are on my home wireless network.

I assume SlimServer is running on the desktop and that the desktop is reachable from the laptop. If so, using a web browser running on the laptop, connect to the SlimServer web interface running on the desktop computer. Use the desktop computer name, or, if necessary, its IP address.

It will be a URL something like:

http://desktop_machine:9000

http://192.168.0.2:9000

Just figure out the name or IP address of the SlimServer machine.

Zten
2007-05-20, 19:22
mine is http://localhost:9000/

But I think the key is that I don't know how to connect my laptop to my desktop...

If I just type http://localhost:9000/ in the explorer browser, it says it can't find it.

The laptop and the desktop are both on my home network, but how do I make the laptop able to "see" the desktop?

bhaagensen
2007-05-20, 19:34
The address http://localhost:9000 is only usable from the same machine as slimserver is on. localhost is just an alias for the local machine. I.e. all computers have the address localhost which you can only use on that machine. Another alias for localhost is 127.0.0.1

You have to figure out the ip address for the slimserver on your local network (not localhost or 127.0.0.1). If you are using MS windows try looking in network properties or something like that (right click the network icon in the taskbar and look for properties), or open a command promt and type 'ipconfig' or 'ipconfig /all'. The ip-address you are looking for is probably something like 192.168.*.* or 10.0.*.*, but could be different.

If you're on linux type 'ifconfig' in a terminal.

JJZolx
2007-05-20, 19:49
You have to figure out the ip address for the slimserver on your local network (not localhost or 127.0.0.1). If you are using MS windows try looking in network properties or something like that (right click the network icon in the taskbar and look for properties), or open a command promt and type 'ipconfig' or 'ipconfig /all'. The ip-address you are looking for is probably something like 192.168.*.* or 10.0.*.*, but could be different.

Clarification: Do this on the machine running SlimServer in order to find its IP address. In Windows use the Start button, then Run..., then in the console windows that appears, type ipconfig. This should show you the IP address of the server machine.

Then go to the laptop and enter that IP address in your browser, with the port 9000. For example, if the IP address is 192.168.1.2, enter:

http://192.168.1.2:9000

bhaagensen
2007-05-20, 19:53
Clarification:



Thanks, I've barely touched a windows box the last 8 years...

JJZolx
2007-05-20, 19:58
Thanks, I've barely touched a windows box the last 8 years...
Actually, now that I think of it... You can also figure it out from the Squeezebox itself. If you go into the network setup by holding down the left-arrow button on the remote, it should say something like "Squeezebox Setup (4 of 4), Connect to computer_name (192.168.1.2)". If a name is shown, you can probably use it in the URL, or else use the IP address shown.

Zten
2007-05-20, 20:04
That did it. Thanks, guys.

Ian_F
2007-05-21, 01:25
One thing worth clarifying. If each device on your network is using a dynamic IP address then typing http://IPAddressForYourMachineRunningSlimserver:9000 may work today but may well not work tomorrow, since IP addresses may have swapped around.

Better would be to use the Machines "name". This can be found under My Network Places, Entire Network, Microsoft Windows Network and then click on the Workgroup name(s) to see all devices on your network. This way you can be sure to hit the same machine each time no matter what it's IP address is.

amey01
2007-05-21, 18:12
Regarding this, is there (or is anyone developing) a text-based interface for SB control. It doesn't necessarily have to be text-based, but something that can be controlled by the keyboard (instead of having to point and click) would be fantastic!

I'd love to use an old laptop as a remote, but with SlimServer requiring mouse control it is just too cumbersome! How good would it be just to type half an artist's name, then hit F2 (say) to play.

I can't believe this has not been raised, but I can't find it anywhere!

tyler_durden
2007-05-21, 18:14
Get and old tablet PC with a touchscreen off ebay for $200 and use it for your fancy-schmancy remote control. I did and it works great!

TD

pfarrell
2007-05-21, 18:15
amey01 wrote:
> Regarding this, is there (or is anyone developing) a text-based
> interface for SB control. It doesn't necessarily have to be text-based,
> but something that can be controlled by the keyboard (instead of having
> to point and click) would be fantastic!
>
> I'd love to use an old laptop as a remote

I used an old laptop as my only remote for my SqueezeBox and later
Transporter. Done it for years.

The laptop is a Toshiba P233 with 256MB of Ram, running DSL and later
DSL-N. Has full Firefox.

I don't find using the pointer to be clunky at all.
And Firefox has an extensive set of function keys, and other equivalents.

You can't run a full distro (Ubuntu, Windows, etc.) on such a slow and
limited computer, but it does a great job of enabling music.

I go months without touching the SB remote, even the good looking one
that came with the Transporter.

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

muski
2007-05-21, 20:46
Another way to get keyboard binding is to install Softsqueeze on your laptop and then synch it to your player (Player settings->Audio->Synchonize). Turn the volume all the way down on your laptop (or mute the Softsqueeze player). Since they're now synch'ed, whatever you do to the Softsqueeze happens on your real Squeezebox. Softsqueeze even has nice keyboard binding:

See: http://softsqueeze.sourceforge.net/faq.html#shortcuts

muski

Dr Lovegrove
2007-05-22, 02:51
On 22/05/07, amey01
<amey01.2qyn6z1179796501 (AT) no-mx (DOT) forums.slimdevices.com> wrote:
>
> Regarding this, is there (or is anyone developing) a text-based
> interface for SB control. It doesn't necessarily have to be text-based,
> but something that can be controlled by the keyboard (instead of having
> to point and click) would be fantastic!
>
> I'd love to use an old laptop as a remote, but with SlimServer
> requiring mouse control it is just too cumbersome! How good would it be
> just to type half an artist's name, then hit F2 (say) to play.

Have you tried Moose ? (http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove)
It's possible to use most of its functions via tabbing, cursoring and
enter keying..

In the preferences there's a setting for the enter key's behaviour. If
you set it
to 'play' and type a partial match into the library window's filter
control, it'll
start playing the most sensible match..

HTH,

--
- Dr Lovegrove
http://www.rusticrhino.com/drlovegrove
http://groups.google.com/group/moosenews

richey
2007-05-27, 08:58
I too prefer to work from a laptop than the RC but miss the track progress bar and the REW & FWD control

aubuti
2007-05-27, 10:26
I too prefer to work from a laptop than the RC but miss the track progress bar and the REW & FWD control
Have you checked out the different skins for the slimserver web ui? Fishbone has a progress bar as well as REW & FFD. Nokia770 has a progress bar but no FFD or REW.

richey
2007-05-27, 11:15
Egg on face!
I hadn't thought of that and you're absolutely right.
Many thanks.