PDA

View Full Version : Can the Logitech Harmony 880/890/1000 Control the SB?



shaboyi
2007-05-20, 18:26
Does any one know if the Harmony 880/890 or 1000 can control the SB? If
yes, can it do all the functions of the SB remote?

Another question, are there any wi-fi enabled remotes that can be used with
the SS handheld skin? (in addition to the nokia device).

Thanks.

kdf
2007-05-20, 18:38
On 20-May-07, at 6:26 PM, Charles Stanton wrote:

> Does any one know if the Harmony 880/890 or 1000 can control the SB?
> If yes, can it do all the functions of the SB remote?
>
I have an 880 and it does a great job at controlling the SB. There is
a device option in the software, and the functions not mapped to hard
buttons are available on the soft buttons.

I would assume that the 1000 has the same level of support.

-kdf

Ur[s]uS
2007-05-21, 14:25
Does any one know if the Harmony 880/890 or 1000 can control the SB? If
yes, can it do all the functions of the SB remote?

Another question, are there any wi-fi enabled remotes that can be used with
the SS handheld skin? (in addition to the nokia device).

Thanks.

a vote for the 885 (EU version of te 880)
harmony can learn any ir code from the original remote, if you have it
they also have database of remote codes - including for slim

nolesrule
2007-05-22, 21:31
It works perfectly on my 4+ year old Harmony 659 (pre-Logitech), so I can't imagine it not working on any Harmony remote.

vdorta
2007-05-23, 08:29
Another happy owner of Harmony 659/SB2 here.

geoffb
2007-05-23, 09:33
On 5/20/07, Charles Stanton <shaboyi (AT) gmail (DOT) com> wrote:
> Does any one know if the Harmony 880/890 or 1000 can control the SB? If
> yes, can it do all the functions of the SB remote?

The 880 rocks! Mine controls a TV, DVD/VCR player, CD player, amp,
MythTV box, X10 controller, and of course the SB3. I went from 7
remotes down to one, and it had a high WAF to boot...

By default I think it includes most functions, but it's simple in the
setup to rearrange the soft-buttons to put your most-used functions on
the first page. It can also learn new commands if needed, although
the SB shouldn't require this.

> Another question, are there any wi-fi enabled remotes that can be used with
> the SS handheld skin? (in addition to the nokia device).
I use my IPAQ 6945 for this and it works fine, although I don't
normally bother (mainly due to wi-fi battery demands).

Cheers,
Geoff

Jez
2007-05-23, 14:06
I have an 880 and it does a great job at controlling the SB. There is
a device option in the software, and the functions not mapped to hard
buttons are available on the soft buttons.

I would assume that the 1000 has the same level of support.

-kdf

I can confirm that the Harmony 1000 makes a great remote - in fact we used one with a squeezebox at the Home Entertainment Show in NYC a couple of weeks ago. Being a touch screen you have a lot of flexibility to get the right buttons in the right place for your SB or Transporter use.

meh130
2007-11-12, 19:59
If you have a JVC AV receiver, and use it to control the volume, the JVC remote, and therefore the Harmony remote will simultaneously control the volume for the SB and the AV receiver.

You have to go into SlimServer, select "Settings", "Player Settings for ... ", pull down "Remote" from the drop down menu, and then click off "jvc_dvd".