PDA

View Full Version : sorry, even another newbie SS install question

mgh
2007-05-13, 17:23
I am very new to Linux. Every time I think I am making progress I get stumped again.

using Ubuntu 6.10. Went to software sources, third party, added the SS address. Opened synaptic, found the SS listed, checked, apply. Progress bar says downloading, then says installing SS, everything going great. Trouble is, I can not find SS to open and configure it.

From everything I could see, it was downloaded and installed, but I can not find anything.

I tried a sudo command (my first try at any command linde) that I saw in another post, but got message that no such command existed (or something to that affect).

Any help will be appreciated. I am trying to see if I can migrate to Linux, but sure can't do it if I can't use my SB!

pfarrell
2007-05-13, 17:33
mgh wrote:
> I tried a sudo command (my first try at any command line) that I saw
> in another post, but got message that no such command existed (or
> something to that affect).

You should see something like this

sudo
usage: sudo -K | -L | -V | -h | -k | -l | -v
usage: sudo [-HPSb] [-p prompt] [-u username|#uid]
{ -e file [...] | -i | -s | <command> }

Linux and other unix systems are very, very picky about typing, case, etc.

Show us exactly what you typed and exactly what you got as a response.

> Any help will be appreciated. I am trying to see if I can migrate to
> Linux, but sure can't do it if I can't use my SB!

While some of the newer distros make it mostly possible to use without
using the command shell, some things always require command
so you will need to be able to do basic things like
'cd' and 'ls' and 'pwd'
to survive. Its worth it.

Pat

--
Pat
http://www.pfarrell.com/music/slimserver/slimsoftware.html

Mark Lanctot
2007-05-13, 18:08
When I downloaded SlimServer in Ubuntu, everything just worked. SlimServer could be running - there was nothing on the command line I had to do to it.