PDA

View Full Version : Connect to KEXP Uncompressed

dewinkle
2007-05-05, 10:08
Does anyone know how I can connect to KEXP using the uncompressed format (1.44)? I am a newbie, and just got my SB3. I searched these forums, but didn't really find an answer. I tried via the Slimserver and squeezenetwork using a URL of http://kexp.org/audio/kexp-uncomp.asx and all that happens in the KEXP welcome message just keeps playing over and over, but it never connects to the streaming music. Thanks for your help.

bpa
2007-05-05, 12:37
Try this - it is the 2nd URL in the ASX file
mms://media-wm.cac.washington.edu/KEXP-Uncompressed

However because you get the announcements playing lots of times - I think you may not be able to play the uncompressed stream because of network issues.

dewinkle
2007-05-05, 16:20
Thanks bpa. Good call. It tries to fill the buffer, waits for a couple of seconds, and then just keeps trying. It obviously finds the link, but never srteams the sounds.

andyg
2007-05-05, 16:35
I looked at this stream a while ago, and if I recall correctly the issue is that they are using plain WAV audio inside of an ASF container. We assume anything with mms:// is going to be WMA, and so SlimServer tells the decoder that it's going to be getting WMA audio. I didn't spend enough time on it to see if it's possible to fix this.

Sending out uncompressed WAV is just silly though, they could at least use FLAC!

dewinkle
2007-05-08, 07:50
I looked at this stream a while ago, and if I recall correctly the issue is that they are using plain WAV audio inside of an ASF container. We assume anything with mms:// is going to be WMA, and so SlimServer tells the decoder that it's going to be getting WMA audio. I didn't spend enough time on it to see if it's possible to fix this.

Sending out uncompressed WAV is just silly though, they could at least use FLAC!