PDA

View Full Version : N800 remote like Sonos?

jkadragich
2007-05-04, 14:09
Please resolve this question for me. I'm trying to decide btwn sonos and SB, and I know you guys are all SB devotees, but I REALLY like the sonos remote and I need to be able to run system remotely and it would be great to see playlists, pick songs etc on remote. If all I need to do to make SB like sonos is to buy N800 Nokia remote and figure out (I am NOT a techie) how to load necessary software (that 770 "skin" everyone talks about?) so I can see and talk to my pc server, then I'm good to go, I think. Also, assume range of SB and the N800 is same as my laptop within home wireless a/b/g network? Please advise, and thanks...Jeff

aubuti
2007-05-04, 14:46
You don't need to load any software on the N800. The Nokia770 skin comes with slimserver, which is the software that runs on the computer that holds your music library, and serves the music to the squeezebox. When setting up slimserver, select the Nokia770 skin as your default. The N800 comes with a web browser, called Opera, that is optimized for the N800 screen resolution. Point the browser to your computer running slimserver (i.e., type in the address http://yourslimserver:9000), where 'yourslimserver is the computer name or IP address of the computer running slimserver, and away you go.

I can't say how closely this approximates the Sonos remote experience. I've never used an N800, and I've only played a little with the Sonos at a local audio store (it was pretty unsatisfying).

bklaas
2007-05-04, 14:56
an N800 with slimserver is not a difficult combination to figure out. Get your N800 hooked up to your home wifi network (yes, it will have the range of your laptop), then point the N800 browser to http://your.PCs.ip.address:9000/Nokia770/ (replace your.PCs.ip.address with the ip address of your PC running slimserver).