PDA

View Full Version : WTD: Recommendations for speakers and power for SB3 in Kitchen

kennyschiff
2007-04-29, 10:04
I am renovating my kitchen (about 15' x 22') and right now it's stripped to bare walls. I want to put in speakers and some sort of amplification/power that will attached to a Squeezebox that I intend on installing in there.

I am thinking 4 in ceiling speakers and a sub woofer, but can be convinced to do otherwise if it makes sense. I don't want to spend a ton. There is an a desk area that will be put in, and I imagine the sub would go underneath it. Floor will be tile.

What do you think will work well, given my interests?

Mark Lanctot
2007-04-29, 10:29
I've never heard good things about in-wall/in-ceiling speakers. They are expensive, inflexible and don't sound very good.

It would probably be a better idea to put in a cable run and use bookshelf speakers on wall mounts.

Then again, I've never done this before. I'm just going from what I have read here and at AVS Forum.

CatBus
2007-04-30, 11:11
I have an SB3 in my kitchen, FWIW. But my approach is "budget".

It will be very easy to overkill on a project like this--consider that the kitchen is likely to be a room that's acoustically horrible (e.g. tile floors...) even when quiet. And with cooking, dishwasher, microwave, running water and all the things going on that would justify your presence in the kitchen, it's never going to be quiet.

So consider two speakers and no sub. Or even merge everything to mono. This is not a listening room--it's a "I'm stuck in the kitchen but I don't want to miss out entirely on what's playing" room. Buy accordingly.