PDA

View Full Version : Squeezebox keeps disconneting



trixpan
2007-04-25, 01:13
Gentlemen,

I'm having a problem with my squeezebox in here. From time to time my squeezebox disconnects from the slimserver. Symptoms are generally:

- reset current stream, what means that it starts playing the MP3, or CUE defined track from point 0.

- dark screen (means invisible to server with no display active)

- no ping to squeezebox from server machine (windows xp sp2).

The quick workaround seems to be pinging the SB3! (weird)

My current setup is running WPA2 AES, static IPs for both SB3 and XP, access point is a Billion 7404VGO WiFI/VOIP/ADSL2+ Router and Squeezebox firmware is version 81.

All I see with slimproto_v enabled is:

Checking if 00:04:20:06:52:d7 is still alive
sending squeezebox frame: stat, length: 0
Checking if 00:04:20:06:52:d7 is still alive
sending squeezebox frame: stat, length: 0
sending squeezebox frame: grfe, length: 1284
Checking if 00:04:20:06:52:d7 is still alive
sending squeezebox frame: stat, length: 0
sending squeezebox frame: grfe, length: 1284
Checking if 00:04:20:06:52:d7 is still alive


Any suggestion about what can it be?

Skunk
2007-04-25, 05:41
You could try disabling anti-virus software in windows task manager, or excluding *.MYI and *.MYD files from the virus scan.

trixpan
2007-04-25, 08:17
Skunk, no anti virus installed on that machine.

Balthazar_B
2007-04-25, 09:20
You might try isolating the problem by using a direct ethernet connection between the devices. If that works, go to wireless and borrow/try a different access point. The problem sure feels network-related, so that's what I'd look at first.

Do you have anything in your environment (wireless phone, microwave oven, old 802.11b gizmos) that could be causing your wireless links to drop and require re-initing?

trixpan
2007-04-26, 08:49
Balthazar_B, I'm currently using the ethernet cable, for my complete surprise I was able to see the problem even with cables. :-(

Balthazar_B
2007-04-26, 09:23
Could still be a network interface problem in either your Squeezebox device or on the machine hosting Slimserver.

If you go to Slimnetwork rather than the Slimserver, do you experience dropouts?

Alternatively, if you run Softsqueeze on a separate computer against your existing Slimserver, do you get dropouts?