PDA

View Full Version : What causes the equalizer like display to change?



mswlogo
2007-04-13, 22:41
One minute my SB3 has 2 VU Meters.
Next few minutes, maybe an hr later it has a 8 way frequency spectrum.
Another few minutes later it has like a 128 way frequency spectrum in the "back ground".
Next few minutes it's back to 2 VU meters.

What am I doing to trigger this display change?
Does it rotate mode on it's own, can I shut that off?

ceejay
2007-04-14, 00:16
It changes when you press "Now Playing". If you want to remove some or all of the options, go to Player Settings - Basic - Now Playing Information and change each setting you don't want to (blank).

Or just press Now Playing a few times...

HTH
Ceejay

mswlogo
2007-04-14, 07:16
Youv'e got to be kiding me.

Now playing changes the display as well, what are these guys thinking.

SteveEast
2007-04-14, 07:24
Youv'e got to be kiding me.

Now playing changes the display as well, what are these guys thinking.

Yes, it changes the display...but only if you press it more than once.

Steve.

mswlogo
2007-04-14, 07:39
Of course !!!

If these guys designed a car...

Turn steering wheel right, beeps horn. But only when in 3rd gear. It assumes your trying to cut someone off.
If in 2nd gear it opens the right rear window because it assumes your driving a country road. Only happens if temp between 70-80 and the AC is off.
A left turn in 4th gear reclines the passenger seat, only if the rear seat is not occupied.

...

shadowboxer
2007-04-14, 07:46
Of course !!!

If these guys designed a car...

Turn steering wheel right, beeps horn. But only when in 3rd gear. It assumes your trying to cut someone off.
If in 2nd gear it opens the right rear window because it assumes your driving a country road. Only happens if temp between 70-80 and the AC is off.
A left turn in 4th gear reclines the passenger seat, only if the rear seat is not occupied.

...


I disagree! I think it makes good sense. Touch the button once and it shows what song is playing. Press it additional times and it toggles through all of the various "now playing" views that you choosen in server settings. I love it. Saves me from having to go my computer, bring up the web interface, go to server setting,.....etc.

-dale

Nostromo
2007-04-14, 08:32
I agree with mswlogo. I think its confusing, not to mention a pain in the ass. If I press on "now playing" a second time by mistake, you have to cycle through all the the display options. Pressing "now playing" should only display "remaining time" and "elapsed time". If you want to change other things in the now playing screen, do so in Slim Server.

Nostromo
2007-04-14, 08:36
I disagree! I think it makes good sense. Touch the button once and it shows what song is playing. Press it additional times and it toggles through all of the various "now playing" views that you choosen in server settings. I love it. Saves me from having to go my computer, bring up the web interface, go to server setting,.....etc.

-dale

The basic idea is good, but it was badly done, IMO. By default, you should only be able to display only "remaining time" and "elapsed time". I repeat, that would be the default option. If someone wants to be able to cycle through all the Now playing views, they just have to change it in Slim Server.

ceejay
2007-04-14, 11:46
There really is no pleasing some people. "Now Playing" displays some info about what is playing. Press it again to get a different view of what is playing. This is quite a common approach to a UI.

Another way of looking at this is that everyone wants their own way of looking at stuff on the display - but no-one wants a remote with 500 buttons on it. So buttons have to be overloaded.

If you don't like it, its *really* easy to change the config so you just have one or two valid options to cycle through...

IMHO

Ceejay

Nostromo
2007-04-14, 12:59
Like I said, the basic idea is good. But the way it is set up by default is:

(A) Confusing. At first, I thought it was a bug. And I'm not the only one who was confused at first. Take mswlogo, for example. Confusing the user is not the stapple of good UI design.

(B) A pain in the ass. If you press "Now playing" two times by mistake, you have to cycle through all the 8 or 9 views to return to the one you prefer. Like I said, a pain in the ass. And most the views have no real function anyway, they're purely aesthetic. Being a pain in the ass isn't the stapple of good UI design either.

So the basic idea is good, but it was badly implemented, IMHO. By default, you should be able to cycle through only a couple of different, and useful views, like "remaining time" and "elapsed time". If someone wants to add more views, they're free to do so.

And, yes, I know I can modify it. And I did. I'm just saying that, by default, it should work the way most people want it to work. My guess is that most people don't care if they're able to cycle through the small VU and spectrum analyzer with the remote.

mswlogo
2007-04-14, 14:19
I agree with Nostromo. Keep the defaults as basic and common as possible. If a second click gave extended information of what's "Now Playing" then that might make sense. But Changing the cute but gimicky VU meters doesn't tell me squat more about what's now playing, in fact another click may give me less VU meters. They are completely unrelated.

I admit I'm new and I should note I'm running the large text (which at some places is not as user friendly because info is clipped). So sometimes I hit a button and something changes but it's out of view. My brain often, confused, thinks maybe I didn't hit it or if I hit it again I'll get what I wanted or expected.

It's good it's configurable though. I know it's hard to please everyone.